DIY Corkboard

Image

For those of you who are into Pinterest, you’ve probably seen this idea before. I saw the original photo here and knew I could totally do this myself. I found an 18″ x 22″ cork board at Hobby Lobby; the aqua/white fabric, the nail heads, & the flower all at Jo-Ann’s. My husband and I received a staple gun as a wedding gift, and I used it to attach the fabric to the cork board. After stapling it, I trimmed off the excess fabric around the staples.

Next, I pushed in the nail heads around the cork board frame (I say “push” because the cork was soft enough for the nail heads to be pushed through it, so no hammer required). I started at two corners and inserted the nail heads. Then I used a tape measure to find the center between the nail heads. I then used the tape measure to find the center again (between the corner and the center of the board). I continued finding the center each time until one half of the cork board was finished. I then used the same process on the other side. Once one side was done, I continued around the entire board until it was completely surrounded by nail heads.

The last thing I did was super glue a fake flower in one corner of the board. The one I was inspired by had an initial with their flower, but since mine was much smaller, I decided to forgo the letter.

I have hung my board in our laundry room. The walls are a soft gray so I wanted to choose colors that would pair well with it. I had seen a laundry room on Pinterest that used orange and aqua accents (to be honest, I am NOT a fan of orange anywhere except at Halloween), but somehow, it worked. I didn’t find it horrible…see it here. So I decided to go for it – I chose a fabric with aqua and found an orange flower. When I had finished working on it, I was extremely pleased! It was completely easy to do! It doesn’t look as professional as I would like it to, but it’s good enough for me. Plus, it’s a lot more special knowing that I ‘made’ it! On our board, we have coupons, important phone numbers, and helpful reminders hanging on it.

Well, that’s all I have to write today! I hope you feel inspired to make one yourself! Let me know if you do and how it turns out!! On my next post, I’ll show you another craft/decor item I used in the laundry room! It doubles as art and a hiding place…stay tuned :-)

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “DIY Corkboard

Leave a Reply

