Peanut Butter Caramel Cupcakes

Hello friends! For this post, I decided to feature another cupcake recipe. My family was going to be celebrating Christmas Eve/Christmas at my sister and brother-in-law’s house this year. For dessert after our Christmas Eve dinner, my sister asked if I could make some cupcakes. I couldn’t give up a chance to try out a new cupcake so I said, “absolutely!” The only question was what kind of cupcake I should try…I knew my sister had made a 7-layer chocolate, cheesecake, cookie, etc cake for after our Christmas day meal, so I knew I didn’t want a heavily chocolate cupcake. I had a few options that I emailed to my sister, and she responded with these cupcakes that I found from Lizzy:

Peanut-Butter-Caramel-Cupcakes-682x1024

My sister was so excited about them (she LOVES peanut butter). I am not a huge fan (except when I use crunchy PB on a PB&J sandwich), but
I figured I should try something I’m not in love with because who knows…maybe I’ll really like them?!

I got the recipe here and went to work. I made the cake part, but I did something different with mine. The cake part was just a vanilla cake, the frosting was the peanut butter, and the caramel part was the sauce on top. I didn’t think there was enough “caramel” for the peanut butter caramel cupcakes, so I did a little thinking. My mom had these caramel candies, and I thought it would be a great idea to incorporate them into the batter. I was unsure of how they would react in the oven: they could melt and make the cake soggy or make the cake more moist. I decided to go for it, so I dropped a caramel into each cupcake liner.

I baked mine for 18 minutes (I always like to go in between the times the recipe gives me). Next, I went to work on the frosting. Like with all frosting recipes, I doubled mine (just to make sure I always have enough). I whipped up the ingredients and started frosting, but it’s funny, after doubling the frosting and then frosting 22 cupcakes (that’s how many my batter made), I hardly had any left over frosting! But I’m not complaining, I had enough for what I needed to do!

This was the fun part! Once the frosting was on, it was time to garnish them! I knew I was going to use chopped up peanuts and caramel sauce to decorate with. But I went an extra step and cut some of those caramel candies in half and stuck them in the frosting as well πŸ™‚ It just made them look SO much prettier and tastier πŸ™‚ And here is what my final cupcake looked like:

9709_644298364483_2042923849_n

Doesn’t it look delicious?!? And like I said before, I am not a huge fan of peanut butter, but the PB frosting was absolutely scrumptious!! I kept eating it while I piped the cupcakes (maybe that’s why I didn’t have a lot of extra frosting haha). The frosting had a consistency like a mousse, so it was light and delicate, a perfect after dinner treat!

About that caramel I baked inside the batter, it turned out alright. It started to melt the outside of the candy, but the inside was still a little gummy/chewy. Everyone said they were really good, so I guess they didn’t mind the caramel in the middle. The important part is that I enjoyed it, and that makes me happy πŸ˜€ [wow, that sounds so selfish, I apologize :-/]

So if you’re thinking of trying this recipe out, you might want to skip the caramel inside the batter. Or you could always do half with the candy and half without, that way you’ve got the best of both worlds! I hope you go out and try these soon! I really want to make them again myself! Enjoy your Saturday everyone! And happy baking πŸ™‚

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

