Homemade Christmas/Winter Gift

Greetings everyone! I know that Christmas is over, but winter is still upon us! So for today’s post, I am going to show you a great idea for a homemade Christmas/winter gift. But first a little back story…

When I was in college, my mom found a recipe for homemade instant hot chocolate. She made it, and when we tasted it, we all fell in love! It was so rich and delicious. I got the recipe from her and made it for my secret pal at school. That was 4 years ago! This past Christmas, my husband and I were visiting my parents, and my mom had made the hot chocolate mix. I got the recipe from her again (somehow, I lost it) and wanted to make it when we returned home.

The recipe makes A LOT of hot chocolate, and I knew hubby and I couldn’t use it all up ourselves. That’s when I thought it would make a perfect present for someone. We had two couples we needed to find gifts for: one was a Christmas gift and the other a house warming gift. I decided to make the hot chocolate, package it up in a mason jar (along with a scoop), and provide mugs to go with the mix. These are my two gifts:

044  043

As you can see, one was a Christmas gift (complete with Christmas ribbon and tag) and the other a house warming gift (personalized mugs and tag). I had the mason jars (I bought one of those big packs at Walmart) and the white mugs. The scoops I got at Walmart and the Christmas mugs at Hobby Lobby. Before I get to the hot chocolate recipe, I’ll tell you how I personalized the white mugs. You’ve probably seen on Pinterest the plates you can buy at the dollar store, write on them in permanent marker, and bake them to seal in what you’ve written/drawn. I figured I could do the same thing with the mugs. I used some stencils I had from my scrap booking supplies and different colors of permanent marker to draw out my design. I then baked the mugs in the oven for 30 minutes at 350 degrees. I did have some trouble with the permanent marker running. But I easily cleaned up any stray marks with rubbing alcohol and a Q-tip.

Now for the hot chocolate recipe. I’ll be honest, I don’t know where my mom got the recipe. But here it is…

Ingredients:

040

3 bags of nonfat dry milk

1 22 ounce jar of powdered coffee creamer

2 and 2/3 cups powdered sugar

1 box of powdered, sweetened chocolate flavoring for milk (Nesquick)

10 tablespoons of cocoa

2 bags of mini chocolate chips (not pictured)

Directions:

Blend non fat dry milk powder in blender until powder is very fine

Mix remaining ingredients (I had to use two large bowls as you’ll see below)

041

Store in an air-tight container (the big one below I purchased at Hobby Lobby)

042

If you buy the scoop from Walmart, use 3 scoops per mug

Instead, use 1/4 – 1/3 cup of mix per mug

Fill with boiling/really hot water and stir

Well everyone, I hope you use this gift idea for someone special! I’ll be heading back to school tomorrow…ugh! I’ve really enjoyed these last two weeks of freedom! I will try my best to post as much as I can throughout the week, but I’m not going to make any promises. Usually when I come home after school, I am too tired (ok maybe lazy is a better word) to do much else (other than cook dinner). But you never know, I might surprise myself! Have a super Sunday and a wonderful work week! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “Homemade Christmas/Winter Gift

  1. I didn’t post this till now, but when I originally read this post, I was sitting and drinking some of this cocoa at Mom and Dad’s house!!

Leave a Reply

