DIY Menu Board

Wow guys, I do apologize for the lack of posts this past week. I had figured I could skip a post on Monday and Tuesday. Wednesday we had our first small group meeting, Thursday I was busy packing and getting ready for my weekend get away, and the weekend was spent in Virginia. Time just got away from me!

A friend of mine from college was being thrown a baby shower on Saturday, so I took a half day from school and drove up on Friday. The weekend was wonderful! I had such a great time hanging out with her, her husband, and her parents. And the shower was a great success! I got to use her new camera and take pictures during the party, and it was awesome! My husband and I are planning on getting a new/really nice camera… now we know what we’re looking for 🙂

Anywho, I saw an idea on Pinterest where you take a frame and make a menu board out of it, like the one seen here :

Menu-Board-Frame

I had an 8-picture frame that was just collecting dust, so I decided to make a menu display for my kitchen. I bought scrapbook paper that had different patterns/colors. I didn’t want anything too bold, so I picked paper that was light and not busy. I also bought some brown stickers that would go with the brown of the frame. I traced around the glass and cut all of my paper down to size. I then laid the stickers where I wanted them to go. I started the week with Sunday (that’s usually when I go grocery shopping).

Here’s the frustrating part. I didn’t want to use a black dry erase marker (I don’t normally like black and brown together). However, when I tried using a black dry erase marker, it barely showed up. I brought home more colors to try, but nothing worked! So I searched and searched and found some markers that are made for writing on windows (they’re made by Crayola). Thankfully, I was able to find them at Wal-Mart. You can also find them online, like here.

CRAYOLA-Window-Markers-8-Count-53701_X

These work a lot better than the dry erase markers! I enjoy using the blue and green markers (probably because my scrapbook paper has hues of blues and greens). I have hung this in our kitchen and it looks great! What do you think?

263457_639543178913_221230405_n

I hope you take this idea and make it your own! As always…happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

