DIY Key Holder

Hey everybody! It’s FRIDAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Can you tell I am excited for the weekend?! Cause I am šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚ There’s nothing special about this weekend really…I’m just happy I get a few days away from my students. They’ve been quite talkative and lazy since returning from Christmas break and it’s driving me crazy!! Anyways, back to the subject at hand!

I found yet another idea on Pinterest that I just HAD to try – a diy key holder! I found my inspiration here:

229542912227059146_kte0wywC_c

To recreate this, I started at Hobby Lobby. I bought a 12×12 wood frame (no glass), patterned scrapbook paper, a few coordinating colors of scrapbook paper, pearl stickers, wood letters that spelled out ‘home sweet home’, paint, and a stamp.

The background paper had brown, olive green, and a light teal/aqua color in it. I used some scalloped scissors and cut a border out of some aqua/teal paper. After I affixed it onto the background paper, I added a pearl border on top. Then I painted my wood letters in a dark olive green. I laid the letters out on the paper and glued them down once I was happy with the layout (I used super glue if I remember correctly). The last thing I did was use the stamp. I got some olive green ink and stamped my ‘keys’ onto some cream paper. I then layered the cream paper onto brown paper and rounded off the edges. I attached that to the bottom of the background paper under the ‘home sweet home’ saying.

Once the paper part was complete, I painted the frame brown. And the last thing I had to do was attach some hooks for the keys to hang on. I went to Lowe’s and bought four silver hooks. My husband had to help me drill holes into the wood frame, but we did it! Now, the key holder was complete – except for it being hung on the wall, of course. Here’s what my finished piece looks like:

388083_624727709233_503292319_n

Isn’t it cute? We hung it up by our front door. My husband wants me to make another one to place by the garage door. He parks his truck in the garage so it makes more sense for his keys to be by the garage door. I would have made another one by now, but we decided to go on a spending freeze this month so I can’t buy anything for the house. Guess he’ll just have to wait šŸ˜‰ But I think when I make another one, I’m going to do a different design. I might do one more like the inspiration photo (monogram with 3-D flowers).

Well, I am excited to get my weekend started! It’s 32 degrees and raining right now, which means I won’t be able to work outside at all. Guess I’ll have to tackle my inside projects! I hope everyone has an awesomely fantastic weekend! Stay tuned for a guest blog from my sister, Tamara. She’s making some Gluten-free Chocolate Raspberry Cupcakes to celebrate her hubby’s birthday – yum!!! Happy crafting everyone,

~ Traci

3 thoughts on “DIY Key Holder

  1. If I were to buy the supplies for this craft, would you put it together for me? I want someplace to hang my keys in our house because I’m always running around like a chicken with my head cut off in the mornings, but I have so many sewing projects I need to work on that I just don’t feel like I’ll have time for it…..:-)

Leave a Reply

