Gluten-Free Chocolate Raspberry Filled Cupcakes {A Special Guest Post!}

Hey guys! I apologize for not posting anything for almost a whole week, but the school nights have kept me busy! I am very pleased to have a guest post this week! My fabulous sister made some delicious cupcakes for her husband’s birthday this past weekend, and she’s going to tell us all about them….and heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeere she is!!!!!

blogpic

Hey there fellow crafters!  My name is Tamara and I’m Traci’s big sis!  I blog about fashion, makeup and sewing over at Ordinary Fashionista .  I’ve been blogging for awhile so when my sister came to me and told me she was going to start a blog showcasing her awesome DIY’s, crafty creations and cupcakes, I was really excited!!

Being a very supportive sister, I want to help her in anyway I can, so when I decided to make cupcakes for my hubby’s 30th birthday this past weekend, I asked her if she’d like me to share my recipe with you guys!  My hubby’s favorite fruit is raspberry, so I knew before I even asked him that he’d want some kind of raspberry and chocolate cupcakes.  He requested Raspberry filled Chocolate Cupcakes with Cream Cheese Frosting.

For the past almost 2 years, the hubby and I have followed a paleo-ish diet. I say “ish” because a strict paleo diet eschews not only all grains and beans, but also sugar and dairy.  We do not typically consume grains(except on very rare occasions like eating at a friend’s house), but we do eat cheese, butter and sour cream.  Hubby also has a pretty strong sweet tooth, so I try to make most dessert type offerings with natural sugars like honey or maple syrup, but sometimes you just need real sugar to make a fluffy whipped icing.

So, long story even longer, the base of these cupcakes is gluten free and paleo, but the raspberry filling and frosting is NOT.

So, without further Ado, I present you with Gluten-Free Chocolate Raspberry Filled Cupcakes

I’m not one to go re-inventing the wheel, so for the cake part of the cupcakes, I adapted a sweet potato brownie recipe from PaleOmg.  I tripled the recipe, changed out some of the measurements and added a few things, but the credit goes all to Juli.  Her recipe calls for coconut oil, which I use in cooking all the time, but since I had loads of butter left over from Christmas, I just used that and they turned out great.

Since I didn’t follow her recipe exactly, here’s my version:

Gluten-Free Chocolate Sweet Potato Cupcakes(24 cupcakes)

2.5 cups cooked, mashed sweet potatoes(don’t worry, they don’t taste like sweet potatoes!!)

9 eggs whisked

¾ cup butter or coconut oil, melted

½ c. honey

½ c. maple syrup

½ c. plus 1 T coconut flour

¾ c. unsweetened cocoa powder

¾ t. baking powder

1 T vanilla extract

¼ t. salt

optional: chocolate chips(I used both semi-sweet and white chocolate chips in mine), nuts, coconut

Pre-heat oven to 350* and line your muffin tins with papers.

Place all ingredients except for chocolate chips(nuts, coconut ect) in a blender and process until smooth and creamy.  Fill your muffin liners to the rim(these don’t really rise so you want to fill them to the level you want them at the end ).  Drop in your chocolate chips or other goodies.

Bake for 30 minutes, and then allow to cool for 10 minutes before removing from pan.

These cupcakes are fantastic, but they are not like a typical cupcake. They are dense and fudgey, not light and airy, but I seriously doubt anyone will be complaining!

Raspberry Filling

Realistically you could just use raspberry jam(which I have used before), but this recipe is so stinking easy, why not make it all homemade and really impress everyone?

photo

1.5 c. frozen raspberries

¼ water

¼ sugar

1 T potato starch(I’m sure corn starch would work fine, but I used potato)

Put all ingredients into the pan and mix well.  Cook on low until thickened.  Feel free to add more starch if you want it stiffer.  Allow to cool before filling cupcakes.

*Note: this BARELY made enough for all my cupcakes, so I would suggest you make a little extra or be careful when you’re filling the cakes.

Filling the cakes was really quite simple.  I used a small cookie cutter to cut out the middle and placed the filling inside, then set the cut out piece right back into the hole.

photo-2photo-6photo-5photo-3

I put the cakes in the freezer while I made the icing so they’d set (but this is not a necessary step).

Cream Cheese Frosting

 

2 bricks cream cheese, softened(16 oz total)

32 oz bag confectioners sugar

1 T vanilla extra(to taste)

pinch of salt(to taste)

This frosting is super simple, particularly if you have a stand mixer.  Just whip your cream cheese till it’s nice and fluffy and slowly add in your confectioner’s sugar, vanilla and salt till it’s the consistency you like. It is a little runny at this stage, so feel free to add more sugar (but we like it to still have some of that cream cheese flavor and more sugar will overpower it).

I piped the icing onto the cupcakes then added 2 fresh raspberries each.  My sister is much better at doing icing/making her cupcakes look gorgeous, so mine won’t ever look as good as hers, but boy do they taste amazing.

photo-4

We served these with publix organic vanilla bean ice cream and it was the perfect balance of heavy chocolate with light vanilla.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post and will check out my latest sewing and fashion shenanigans on my blog .

-Tamara

Soooooooo, there you have it ladies and gentlemen!! That is my awesome sister and her awesome cupcake recipe! I hope you take a few minutes to check our her fantastic blog! Stay tuned for more crafts and cupcakes 🙂 And as always, happy crafting!

~ Traci

One thought on “Gluten-Free Chocolate Raspberry Filled Cupcakes {A Special Guest Post!}

  1. Pingback: Stuff | Ordinary Fashionista

Leave a Reply

