Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

Whoa guys, it has been 16 days since I last posted. I am SO SORRY about that! I know what you’re thinking, because I’m thinking the exact same thing: “Way to drop the ball, Traci!” Ugh, I am not happy with myself 😦 Let’s see, what have I been doing over the last two weeks that have kept me so busy from posting anything?!? Well, here we go:

That first weekend in February, I went to Myrtle Beach for the Beta Club Convention (I am one of the sponsors of the beta club at the high school where I teach). My fellow sponsors and myself drove the kids down to the beach and spent the weekend keeping busy with lots of activities. After arriving back on Sunday afternoon, my husband and I watched the Super Bowl that night. My husband is a huge Steelers fan (born and raised in PA) and he HATES the Ravens. So he and I rooted for the 49ers. Sadly, they couldn’t pull out a win 😦 😦

That week, like any other school week, I was just too plain tired to post anything when I came home from school. The following weekend, I spent deep cleaning – our house needed it…badly. Again, this past week at school was as busy as ever, and I came home from school too tired to write about anything. I had a doctor’s appointment one day, a dentist appointment another day, and parent/teacher conferences on, wait for it…Valentine’s Day!! Somebody was NOT thinking when they made the school calendar. Side note: My husband and I didn’t really celebrate VDay, except we did make chocolate covered strawberries together 🙂

On an exciting note, one of the reasons why the past two school weeks have been busy is because I have been working on something very special to me. As you know from my ‘about me’ section, I love to act! I’ve only ever acted before (I’ve never directed/written a play), but I have always wanted to try my hand at directing. The high school where I teach does a spring musical every year. I haven’t helped with it in the past (for one reason or another) but this year, I decided to get involved. I spoke with the head music director (he does all of the music for the show) and he told me he had no director. He said that if I wanted the job, it was mine.

I had conflicting thoughts about becoming the director. On one hand, I really wanted to try it since I’ve never directed anything before. On the other hand, I didn’t want to ruin the musical because of my lack of experience. I did not want to set myself up for failure. Well, we still haven’t found anyone to volunteer to direct the show, so it looks like it’s going to be me! Oh, did I mention we’re doing “Grease”? So cool!!!

We had auditions on February 6th and 7th and call backs on the 11th. Myself and the music man, Jim, led the auditions/call backs. He was in charge of the music and I was in charge of the readings. Everything went well. We cast the show and our first rehearsal is tomorrow after school! We will be reading through the show, to get a feel for it. Unfortunately, we have already had one student drop out. Our “Cha-Cha” did not like the part she received, so she declined it. Tomorrow, Jim and I will have to decided who should replace her. Oh the drama! Hahaha – pun intended 🙂

ANYWAYS…back to the subject at hand! This past weekend, my parents came up for a visit. Any time I have an excuse to try a new cupcake flavor, I jump at the chance! I had been dying to try these chocolate chip cookie dough cupcakes I saw on Pinterest awhile back, and this was a great excuse to do so! Don’t they look delicious?! I got the recipe from Jamie’s blog, over at My Baking Addiction.

Final

Although I followed Jamie’s recipe, I did do a few things differently. For the cupcake part, I couldn’t find instant espresso granules at Wal-Mart or Bi-Lo. In the recipe, Jamie says the espresso granules are optional, but I wanted to use them or something like them. So I substituted with pure instant coffee (Nescafe Clasico – dark roast).

Also, since I don’t like to buy already made cookie dough, I made my own. Besides, isn’t homemade always better? I like to think so! My chocolate chip cookie recipe can be found here. With the cookie recipe, I used mini chocolate chips and I omitted the walnuts.

I counted out 48 small balls of cookie dough, 24 for the cupcake batter and 24 for the garnish. I filled my cupcake liners with the cake batter and dropped a cookie dough ball down the middle. Because of the consistency of the cake batter, the cookie dough just sat in the batter. I was a little worried because Jamie had said the cookie should be covered by the cake batter. But I figured, what would it hurt if it didn’t cover it completely?

So I proceeded. I baked the cupcakes and after I pulled them out to cool off, the cookie dough sunk down into the cupcake. Not the prettiest, but I knew the frosting would cover up the ugliness.

For the frosting, I decided to do 1.5 times the recipe. As I’ve said before, I usually double the frosting recipe just to make sure I have enough. Usually when I don’t double it, I never have enough. So to be smart, I decided to go half over the amounts called for. It was great! I had just over enough frosting to frost all 24 cupcakes. Also, I didn’t use clear vanilla extract (I didn’t even know they made clear vanilla). The frosting is absolutely divine! Very sweet and extremely decadent 🙂 🙂 I had a hard time not eating it!

After the cupcakes had cooled, I piped on the frosting and garnished with mini chocolate chips and the mini chocolate chip cookie (after baking the cookies, of course). Here’s how mine turned out. Super cute and extremely delicious looking, right?!

65579_655091799353_1057951479_n 45813_655091639673_1573364266_n

Believe me, they are extremely wonderful!!! Very rich, though! Best to share with someome 🙂

Well, I shall keep everyone posted about the progress of the musical! And I will do my best not to wait two weeks to write another post again…I hope you can forgive me! Have a great week everyone! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcakes

  1. clear vanilla extract can be found at craft stores and places like that. the only thing is, it’s imitation vanilla so if you don’t care about the vanilla adding a slight tinge of brown to your baked goods or frostings then I say stick with regular vanilla.

Leave a Reply

