Mini Scrapbook Album {1}

What’s up guys?! Nothing much here, except for the fact that I have the house all to myself this weekend. My husband flew up to PA this morning (very early I must say) to spend a few days with his parents. Also, he’s got a doctor’s appointment Monday, so that’s another reason for the trip home. We woke up at 3:30 this morning and left the house at 4:00. We got to the airport around 4:45, said our goodbyes, and went our separate ways. When I got home at 5:30, I crawled back in bed. I was in and out of sleep till 8:00. Since then, I’ve eaten a big breakfast (eggs, sausage, biscuit, complete with orange juice and coffee), given myself a manicure, washed our bedsheets, and cleaned/organized our closet. I’m quite excited about tonight. I was invited to the community theatre’s awards banquet this evening. I secretly am hoping I win an award! Haha ;-p

Anywho, I figured since I haven’t done much scrapbooking on here, I should post about a somewhat recent photo album I made. My sister and her hubby got married back in July of 2006. I told her that I would made her a 12×12 album as their wedding gift. Although I got 5 pages done on it, I have yet to complete it. One of the reasons is because I couldn’t fit all of the supplies for it at my old house (I had to keep it at my mom and dad’s). Also, I lost the drive to complete it. Unfortunately, she did not have a good photographer for her wedding. He showed up late (so he didn’t get any pictures of anyone getting ready), was DRUNK and mean, and took crappy awful pictures. That’s another reason why I haven’t been inspired to finish the scrapbook. I know my sister hated the pictures, so I haven’t been wanting to complete it.

About 2-ish years ago (I think), Tamara and Alain wanted a re-do of their wedding pictures. They found a photographer who was in need of a couple to shoot in order to build her portfolio, so they took her up on her offer. They got all the necessary supplies they needed (simple, inexpensive attire, flowers, accessories, etc) and were wedding models for an afternoon!

When I saw the pictures, I knew I wanted to make a mini scrapbook album of them! I didn’t tell Tamara because I wanted it to be a surprise! Well, I got to work on it right away (I had finally found some inspiration now that I had beautiful pictures to work with). I decided on a theme for the entire album. Since Tamara used purple for her accent color in the new photos, I picked all shades of purple and gray, with black and white incorporated as well. Here it is from beginning to end…

First is the personalized tag. I printed out the writing onto scrapbook paper, layered it, then punched out the edges.

053

Next I made the front page. I saw the gemstones at Hobby Lobby and knew they’d be perfect for the album! I also traced and cut out the “LOVE” letters and circles in opposing colors and added a pretty flower in the corner (found the flower petals at a local scrapbook store).

054

For the rest of the ‘double’ pages, I used the same paper/accents. That black/clear paper is vellum. Isn’t it awesome?!

055056

For these next two pages, I used this quote from a card they received when they got married. Isn’t that couple stamp adorable?!

057058

Again, more awesome vellum!

059 060

Individual shots.

061 062

I’ll be honest…I am a perfectionist and I am NOT in love with these next two pages. If I could, I would have re-done them, but I followed my family and friend’s advice and let them be.

063 064

These next pages are neat, in my opinion. I didn’t have any striped paper so I created some. I made the stripes different widths because I thought it made the pages a little more visually appealing. Also, the quote is from a Mumford and Sons song πŸ™‚

065 066

I wanted to incorporate their first dance song somewhere in the album so here it is! I printed it onto a pearlized/shimmery vellum!

067 068

More fun-ness!

069 070

This quote is one of my favorites πŸ™‚ It’s a version of Song of Solomon 3:4

071 072

And finally, the last page. This is probably my FAVORITE picture of them! They look like models and the setting is absolutely beautiful! I just love the modern couple against the rustic/antique background…so awesome! Again, the quote is from another Mumford and Sons song. Can you tell I like them just a little bit?

073

So there you have it! A mini scrapbook that is perfect for a side table or coffee table. I was going to wait till their anniversary to give it to them, but I couldn’t wait I was so excited! They both really love it πŸ™‚ And one day, I will finish the other bigger album I started. But who knows when that day will be…

I hope you all have a great rest of your weekend! I know I will πŸ™‚ If I win an award, I’ll be sure to let you know! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “Mini Scrapbook Album {1}

Leave a Reply

