Handmade Card {2}

Happy St. Patty’s Day everyone! I hope you all wore your green today – John and I did! Also in celebration, we enjoyed a shamrock shake from McDonald’s! As you can tell from this picture, I was excited, while my hubby was greedy and tried to steal mine…Bahahaha ;-p

67004_659796780533_1800783127_n

So, since my last post [which did not post to Facebook nor send emails to those that follow my blog and I don’t know why it didn’t], we haven’t done much else to the yard. John did rip out the rest of the pine straw and ugly bushes. Today, we went to Lowe’s and got some weed and seed, top soil, and mulch. I also got my pots and spray paint 🙂 We’re planning on asking a nursery/landscaping company to come out to the house to guide us on what we should plant and where we should plant it. Lots of fun things happening at our house this spring!

Alright, let’s get to today’s post. I wanted to make a card for a special friend in my life and I found a cute idea on Pinterest I knew I could easily recreate. You can find it here made by Debby. Cute, isn’t it?

077826d4198d35dab7b87603c8c5390c

I started with a blank card (mine is a 5″ x 7″ card).

001

I found a patterned paper I liked that evokes spring (pink, yellow, blue, white).

002

From the patterned paper, I cut five 1″ x 5″ pieces.

003

On the back of one of the strips, I measured .5″ from the bottom and drew/formed a ‘triangle’ from the corners to the midpoint of the line (sorry the picture is blurry).

006

I cut the slits out to make an upside down V. For each strip after the first, I measured another .5″ from the previous one. So each one is .5″ shorter than the previous one. Here are my five once they were done.

010

Next, I glued them to my card, evenly spaced out. Unfortunately, I forgot to take a picture of that step. Then I cut a piece of yellow paper that measured 1″ by 5″.

011

Next, I cut a piece of pink paper that measured 1.75″ x 5″. I used some special scalloped scissors to cut  the edges.

013

After cutting the two pieces, I glued them together.

014

I had bought some ribbon at Target earlier today that was on sale but decided not to use it. Instead, I used some I’ve had for a few years. I stretched it out, and cut it to where a little hung over both sides. Then I glued it down.

016

Next, I glued this strip to the card.

017

On the original card, Debby used a small bow on the right hand corner. Since I will be mailing this, I needed something a little less dimensional. At Target today, I bought the ribbon, as I already mentioned, and these heart stickers (probably from Valentine’s Day). I used one of the hearts instead of a bow.

015

Also, instead of using a wedding stamp like Debby used, I used a stamp with one of my favorite quotes on it, “A friend is one who knows you and loves you just the same”. Isn’t it cute?!

019

After making this card, I realized that it is very similar in color to the baby card I made awhile ago. See how similar they are?

019002

Technically, they’re not exactly the same, but the pink/yellow is similar. Also, the patterned paper is almost identical. Oh well!

On Friday, my sister tagged me in her ‘5 things’ post. So, here are 5 random things about me:

1. I love to dance! If I could, I would go out dancing probably every weekend (or at least once a month). Unfortunately, my husband does not like to dance 😦 During my first year of teaching, we had a talent show at school. Two other young female teachers and myself worked on a hip hop dance and we were probably the best performance. If I could, I would upload the video, but I forgot to ask someone to video it for me. If you are my friend on Facebook, you can find it on my timeline from 2010 titled “HHS Talent Show”. It was so much fun and the students really enjoyed it!

2. I used to work at Subway when I was in high school and I absolutely loved it!!! I wasn’t just some employee…I was a sandwich artist ;-D I could make the best sub, hands down! I think I still have the uniform actually. I’ve kept it all these years, thinking I could always get a part time job if I wanted some extra cash. However, the two subway restaurants here in town are not in the best of neighborhoods, so that likely won’t happen.

3. When I was growing up, I NEVER liked to cook or bake. That was always my sister’s thing. She could make a recipe up all on her own without any help from cookbooks. I always wanted to be creative in the kitchen like that, but with my mathematical brain, I had to always follow a recipe. It wasn’t until I was living on my own after college that I started to really enjoy cooking and baking. Now, I can’t get enough of it! And with pinterest, there are so many interesting recipes to try 🙂

4. I have an unusual fear. When I was younger, I loved the swimming pool. I remember spending hours in our pool in FL. But one night, I had a nightmare. In the nightmare, the drain in the middle of the deep end opened up and tried to suck me down into its dark depths. Since then, I’ve had many different recurring nightmares about pool drains and ominous dark holes. To this day, I can’t swim in a pool by myself. And any kind of large hole that I see, I freak out about. Where our air filter is in our house, there is a huge hole. My husband has to change the filter because I can’t summon up the courage to do it! It’s sad, really…

5. I am a chapstick-a-holic. I really could not live without it. I carry one with me wherever I go. I have one at school in my desk, one in my purse, and one at home. Even if I leave the house for only 5 minutes, I bring my chapstick with me. I seriously feel addicted to it! I guess it’s better to be addicted to chapstick than something else 😉

Well, that’s my five things about me. Julie, I’m tagging you now!

This week, I start blocking ‘Grease’ rehearsals. The bad news is that we still don’t have a choreographer 😦 The good news is that we have a rehearsal space 🙂 I’m hoping we can get somebody to choreograph the show, but from the looks of things, it doesn’t look like it’s going to happen…oh well. We’ll make due! I’m also excited because in two weeks, we’ll be on SPRING BREAK!!!!!!!!!! Hubby and I both are really looking forward to getting some stuff done around the house, mostly outside. Yay for spring!!!

Well, I wish everyone a happy and productive week! And happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

