Easter Cupcake

Well hello there, my friends 🙂 I haven’t written two posts back-to-back in a while…but as promised, I have made the Easter cupcakes and am going to share them with you now!

For the cake and icing, I used the recipes from My Baking Addiction.

For the cake, you will need 1 (18.25 ounce) package devil’s food cake mix, 1 (5.9 ounce) package instant chocolate pudding mix, 1 cup sour cream, 1 cup vegetable oil,  4 eggs, 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract, 1 tablespoon instant espresso granules (I couldn’t find this in any store so I substituted with instant dark coffee granules), 1/2 cup warm water.

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Line muffin tin with paper liners or spray with non-stick cooking spray.

2. In a large bowl, mix together the cake and pudding mixes, sour cream, oil, beaten eggs, and vanilla. In a small bowl, combine instant espresso (or coffee) granules and warm water, stirring until dissolved. Add espresso mixture to the cake batter and stir until fully incorporated.

3. Using a large cookie scoop, distribute the batter between 24 muffin wells; about 3 tablespoons of batter per well. This particular batter usually makes more than 24 cupcakes (I had 27 this time).

009

5. Bake in preheated oven for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of a cupcake comes out clean. Typically when I bake any cupcakes, I bake them halfway between the allotted time (ie: I baked these cupcakes for 20 minutes).

6. Remove cupcakes from the muffin tins and allow to fully cool on a wire rack. As the cupcakes cool, you can prepare the ganache.

010

7. You will need a half cup of heavy whipping cream and half a bag of chocolate chips. Bring the heavy cream to a boil in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Once it has started to boil, pour it over the chocolate chips and start stirring (I had my chocolate chips in a glass mixing bowl). Keep stirring until you end up with a nice creamy glaze. Take a cupcake and dunk the top into the ganache and set it aside to cool. Repeat until all cupcakes are coated with the ganache.

011

8. Now while the ganache cools, prepare the frosting. You will need 3 sticks unsalted softened butter, a pinch of fine grain sea salt, 1 tablespoon vanilla extract, 2 pounds confectioners’ sugar, and 4-6 tablespoons heavy cream or milk. For me, I didn’t double the recipe this time…I 1.5’d it (not sure how to say that exactly but I used 4.5 sticks of the butter, 1.5 tbsp vanilla, etc). I had some icing leftover, which I prefer. I’d rather be safe than sorry!! After I tasted the frosting and was satisfied with the sweetness and consistency, I added in about 5 drops of green food coloring and mixed it one last time. I used my large piping bag and frosted the cupcakes. You can’t really tell in the picture, but the frosting is a light green color.

012

For the decoration, I saw this picture on Pinterest and wanted to try it. Isn’t it beautiful?

5645b9426f3ae2c967903e19fec3875b

For the decoration, I bought an extra large Hershey’s chocolate bar and grated it. In the inspiration picture, the shaved chocolate looks like mini twigs, perfect for a bird’s nest. However, when I grated my chocolate, it looked more like brown dust (that’s how my husband described it). See what I mean? A big bowl of brown dust.

008

Then I sprinkled the chocolate shavings over the frosting. I placed my cupcakes on some baking trays to catch the extra chocolate that fell while I was sprinkling.

013

To complete the faux bird’s nest, I had to include some eggs! I bought some mini Cadbury chocolate eggs and placed 3 each per cupcake. Pretty stinking cute, am I right?

015

Here is the finished product, all gussied up in its packaging, complete with a cupcake tag! I’m really pleased with them, I just hope my client is as well!

016

On the back of the tag, it says “Cream of the Crop Cupcakes by Traci”. I thought of this little name and googled it. While it is already in use, it’s not really used like mine. A lot of the names I saw were “Cream of the Crop A Cupcake Shop” or something similar. If I have to change it down the road, I’ll probably just shorten it to Cupcakes by Traci. Or maybe I’ll come up with something different! Who knows what the future will hold?!

So there you have it! A cupcake that is both cute, classy, and extremely delicious! I suggest you go home and whip up a batch for you, your family, and/or your friends! I’m sure everyone will love them 🙂

Keep your eyes peeled for my DIY crafty projects coming up this week! Have a happy Easter Sunday tomorrow everyone, and as always, happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

