DIY Candle Pillar and Jewelry Holder

Happy Monday to everyone! I trust you all had a good weekend – I know I did!!

Friday, I didn’t have musical rehearsal! The musical director and the chorus kids took a field trip to Carowinds for the day. So I was able to relax at home with my hubby and give my self a manicure πŸ™‚ I used the gel nail polish for the minty green and sparkles, and I used acrylic paint for the pink polka dots! Sorry the picture is blurry…

005

Saturday morning, John and I got up early to help with the ACT at school. Although the job is really boring, it’s the easiest money we could make. We get paid to sit and watch the kids take the test (and make sure they don’t try to cheat, of course). We had planned to have a few couples over for dinner and a fire at our house that night, but only one other couple was able to join us. Instead of them driving to our house, we told them that we would drive to Florence for dinner and a movie. We ate at Outback and then saw ’42’. If you get the opportunity to see ’42’, you should go see it! It was such a heart-warming story that was also quite comical πŸ™‚ One of the coolest parts of the movie was when I recognized somebody I went to high school with! He threw a pitch to Jackie Robinson and Jackie scored a home run off of him! How cool?!

Yesterday, I spent the afternoon making the Cherry Coke cupcakes and helping my husband in the yard. He stayed busy getting the right side of our house prepared (ripping out grass, laying down weed preventing fabric, laying the stone perimeter, and filling it up with mulch). I helped him at times when I wasn’t working on the cupcakes. We also bought two more of those fluffy looking bushes (the last two they had at Lowe’s) and planted them. Slowly but surely we’ll get all of the areas cleaned up and covered with mulch! And then we’ll plant some more bushes/trees/flowers!

003

Now the reason for today’s post! I finally got my candle pillar and jewelry/nick-knack holder finished! Let me explain how I got it done…

First, I went to my local Habitat Resale store and bought some plates and candle holders. One plate and candle holder would create a candle pillar. Two plates and a candle holder would create a jewelry holder. Everything I bought was less than $5!! Below is what I started with:

002

I decided to use gold spray paint for both pieces. Growing up, I’d never been a fan of gold; but as I’ve gotten older, my tastes have matured. I bought a shimmery gold for the candle pillar (left) and a metallic gold for the jewelry holder ( right – to match the two plates with the shiny gold ring around them).

For the jewelry holder, I only painted the candle holder. I first sprayed it with primer, then I sprayed it with the metallic gold, then finished it with a top coat. Unfortunately, when I used the top coat, it changed the color of the metallic (and I didn’t get a picture of it before the top coat). Although it’s not the color I wanted, I was lazy and didn’t feel like fixing it :-/

004

After the paint had dried, I used Amazing Goop to glue the candle holder to the two plates. I tried my best to get it centered. Here is a picture of the finished product:

007

And here it is with our nick-knacks!

010011

For the candle pillar, I spray painted both the plate and the candle holder a shimmery gold color. I was really happy with the color, but when I sprayed the top coat, the color changed! I’m not really sure why it happened, but I went with what I had.

001

Again, I glued the candle holder to the bottom of the plate. After I let it dry completely, I added my candles and some clear gems to help jazz it up a bit.

009

Although they are not exactly what I pictured in my mind, they are quite pretty and very unique!

012

Whew, I am tired! Typically over the weekend, I find some time to relax. This was not one of those weekends πŸ˜‰ Next weekend probably won’t be either – John and I are going to be priming and painting our porch chairs! Hopefully we can get them finished so I can tell you about them next Monday! *Fingers crossed*

I hope you all have a fantastic week! And remember, happy crafting!

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “DIY Candle Pillar and Jewelry Holder

  1. Very nice( Especially since you are displaying that awesome peacock feather hair piece). Whoever made that for you must be really talented. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

