Dirt Cup Cupcakes

Hello friends! As promised, I am posting twice this week to make up from last week. A couple of my students asked me when I was going to make cupcakes again, and I figured this past weekend would be as good as any. I thought about what flavor to try next when I remembered seeing a fun idea from Lizzy over at Your Cup of Cake. She created a cupcake version of everyone’s favorite childhood treat, dirt cups, and instantly I was pulled in! I followed her recipe almost exactly, but I did make a few slight changes.

What you need for the cake:

1 Box Devil’s Food Cake

1 small box chocolate pudding mix

4 eggs

1/3 cup oil (I used canola)

1 cup buttermilk

1/4 cup sour cream

2 tsp vanilla extract

13 Oreos, roughly chopped

What you need for the filling:

1 small box chocolate pudding mix

2 cups cold milk (meaning, don’t let it sit out and become warm)

What you need for the frosting:

1 cup butter, softened

3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 tbsp milk

2 tsp vanilla extract

3-4 cups powdered sugar

What you need for the garnish:

Worms

26 Oreos, roughly chopped

Directions:

*Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line pan with cupcake liners (I used green and white striped liners – green because grass is green and grass grows from the dirt…get it? lol)

001

*Sift cake mix and pudding mix together into a small bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, combine eggs, oil, buttermilk, sour cream, and vanilla extract until smooth. Stir in cake mix and pudding mix

002

*Fold in chopped Oreos

003005

*Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full (I use a large scoop as seen in picture below) and bake for 16 – 22 minutes (I always go halfway between the time limit – so I baked mine for 19 minutes) or until an inserted tooth pick comes out clean. Allow them to cool completely (check out the liners in the third picture)

006007008

*For the filling, cut out a small hole in the middle of the cooled cupcake. I used a cupcake corer to do this part, but you could always just use a knife

009

*To make the filling, whisk together the small box of chocolate pudding mix and milk for 2 minutes. Set it in the refrigerator for 5-10 minutes to thicken. Once it’s thickened enough to your satisfaction, use a spoon to fill the hole of the cupcake

010011

*For the frosting, beat butter for 2 minutes. Add cocoa powder, milk, and vanilla extract. Slowly add in powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency, adding more milk if needed

012

*Pipe a circle of the buttercream around the pudding filled hole (disregard the cupcake in the upper lefthand corner – that was a mistake).

014

*Lay two gummy worms across the cupcake, like an X

015

*Pipe more buttercream on top of the worms

016

*Take your crushed Oreos and sprinkle (or press) them into the buttercream

018020

And there you have it – Dirt Cup Cupcakes! Aren’t they so much fun to look at?! They’re even better tasting!!! My students absolutely LOVED them, and I completely agree 😉

We’ve made it to Thursday which means only one more day and it’s Friday! And then it’s the weekend!!! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

