Key Lime and Blackberry Cupcakes

“Hidey ho, neighbor!” Do any of you know what that famous line is from? I’ll give you a hint: it’s a TV show.

 

Normally, when I write a blog post, I try to space out what I write about. I don’t like to do back-to-back-to-back posts in the same category (cupcakes in particular). But recently, I’ve been on a baking frenzy and haven’t had much time (because of “Grease”) to do any other kind of DIY/scrapbooking craft.

 

So today, I am going to tell you about some Key Lime and Blackberry cupcakes I made for our school’s sneak-a-snack we had earlier this week. [Sneak-a-snack takes the place of a faculty meeting after school – it’s where teachers come to eat, drink, and socialize with one another] One of my coworkers suggested I try a key lime cupcake ASAP. Agreeing with her, I scoured pinterest for ideas and found this one . They looked pretty and they sounded really tasty, so I decided to give it a go!

 

I wanted to copy the cupcake almost exactly, so I searched for cute green cupcake liners. I bought some solid green ones at Hobby Lobby, but I wasn’t 100% satisfied with them. So I stopped by Jo-Ann’s to see what they had. I’m glad I stopped there, because they had exactly what I wanted – light green liners with white polka dots. They only bad part about the liners is that when I took the cupcakes out of the oven, the liners had turned somewhat brown…not sure why that happened, but overall they were still cute.

 

The batter was true to form – Risa said it would be thick and it was. Also true to form, I baked my cupcakes in between the allotted time – 22 minutes. Since the batter was so thick, I didn’t fill them as high as I normally do. When the cupcakes came out of the oven, they were really high and puffy looking, but as they cooled, they sunk. Although they weren’t as pretty and large as they usually are, they still tasted fine.

 

For the filling part, I was afraid I wouldn’t have enough for both the filling and the frosting. So I made what the recipe called for and then I made an extra half of it (basically, I made 1.5 times the original recipe). I probably wouldn’t have needed to add the extra half to it, but since this was the first time I was making it, I went with my old stand-by: I’d rather have too much than not enough.

 

Just like with the filling, I doubled the frosting. And I’m glad I did, because I had a little over enough to frost all of my cupcakes. Side note: whenever I make a frosting, I let my husband try it. Usually, he says “It’s good” or “Tastes great”. But with this buttercream, he was more excited about it! I can’t remember exactly what he said, but his tone and expression were more pronounced than usual. I can’t blame him – I thought it was really good too!! I couldn’t stop tasting it 🙂

 

Since I used regular salted butter, I didn’t add salt to the buttercream like the recipe says to do. I also didn’t have to add any milk…probably because my butter was soft enough. And for the garnish, I sprinkled green sugar over the buttercream and added a blackberry on top.

064

 

This is such a pretty plate of cupcakes! And everyone at the sneak-a-snack loved them!! Hopefully this will help my on-the-side cupcake business! I hope you all have a great rest of your work week! And happy crafting,

 

~ Traci

2 thoughts on “Key Lime and Blackberry Cupcakes

  1. Home Improvement.

    Yay, I am awesome.

    Those cupcakes almost look too pretty to eat. I like how your’s look better than the original ones(more frosting is always better).
    I saw a picture of cupcakes on a magazine at the grocery store that looked like watermelons. I don’t know what the flavors where(because honestly watermelon cupcakes sounds gross to me) but the cake part was green in green striped wrappers with pinkish red icing swirled really high and studded with what I think were mini-chocolate chips(too look like seeds).

    They looked pretty epic. I also think you need to try the high hat cupcakes where you make a meringue based icing and then dip it in chocolate. http://www.pineappleandcoconut.com/recipes/chocolate-peanut-butter-hi-hat-cupcakes/ Maybe these? Or the traditional, non-peanut butter ones: http://www.marthastewart.com/951452/hi-hat-cupcakes

Leave a Reply

