DIY Father’s Day Card

SUMMER IS FINALLY HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I couldn’t be more excited…can you tell?!

Now that summer is here, I should hopefully have more time to post more often. These posts will include new cupcake flavors, DIY projects, and scrapbooking creations. And of courrse, I will post about everything from the spa party I hosted this past weekend! It went really well, in case you were wondering 🙂 But more on that later! Today, I want to share with you a cute father’s day card idea.

I perused Pinterest for some inspiration and came across three contenders. Since I couldn’t make up my mind about which one to make, I asked my husband and he picked this one. I especially like the teal blue with orange accents 🙂

PTI-Happy-Day-Father_s-Day-_by_justbehappyI got out one of my blank cards, cut out a piece of white scrapbook paper (a little smaller than the size of the card), and glued it to the card. [BTW – I apologize for any pictures that are blurry]

001002On top of the white paper, I cut and glued a smaller piece of teal and white striped paper.

005On top of the striped paper, I cut and glued a 2″ strip of orange paper and placed it in the middle of the card.

010Next, I cut out a piece of gray and white chevron paper about 2″ wide and 3″ tall and cut a ‘triangle’ at the bottom to resemble a ribbon. Then I glued it to the right side of the card.

011012On top of the chevron paper, I cut out a significantly smaller piece of teal polka dot paper that mirrored the chevron piece. I made the polka dot paper smaller so that you could see the chevron print behind it.

013014

I bought some canvas looking ribbon and cut a long enough piece to fit the width of the card. I couldn’t find any twine like in the original picture, but I had some black twine-like ribbon that I tied to the canvas ribbon. At the end of the post, you’ll see where I cut both the canvas and black ribbon down (so it wasn’t hanging off the sides).

015

I used a stencil to trace and cut out a piece of cream colored shimmery pearlized paper for the ‘happy father’s day’ part of the card. I cut out (by hand) a smaller portion of the same shape of a darker tan colored shimmery pearlized paper and glued them together.

006007For the band across the middle, I cut a 1″ strip of the lighter pearlized paper and glued it down. Then I cut off the edges.

008009For the wording, I started with ‘father’s’ and tried to center it as best I could. Then I did ‘day’ below and finished with ‘happy’ on top. I think it looks pretty centered.

016Lastly, I glued down the ‘happy father’s day’ portion to the rest of the card. I made sure that the ‘father’s’ part of the card lined up with the canvas ribbon. And then in the right hand corner, I added three orange brads.

018Pretty awesome, don’t you think? I know both of my dads will love it! Are you going to be doing anything special with/for your father for father’s day? Hubby and I will be traveling to my parents house this weekend to spend it with him. We’ve got a couple of activities planned and I’ll be trying a derby pie cupcake (my dad loves derby pie)! I’ll post more about that next week sometime 🙂 I hope you all have a great week! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

