Another update

Happy Belated Father’s Day to you all! I hope everyone had a fabulous celebratory weekend! I sure did. Before I tell you about it, I want to share something first. You all know that I’ve been making cupcakes on the side for friends, family, and coworkers. A couple of weeks ago, a fellow teacher ordered two dozen red velvet cupcakes for her daughter’s birthday. They enjoyed them so much that she ordered some more for her husband for father’s day (as a surprise). She wanted a dozen and asked for a mix of flavors. Since I had never done flavor mixing before, I figured I’d go for it. I’ve got to please the customer, right? Lol 😉 She wanted three each of snickers, peanut butter caramel, chocolate chip cookie dough, and coconut lime raspberry.

This was a mistake that will not happen again. I was up until 12:30 on Thursday night (technically Friday morning) baking three different cake batters. I got up the next morning at 5:30 to make the frostings. [In the future, I will only allow a maximum of two flavors for any order…not four!] I set out enough cupcakes for her order and a few to take with me for the weekend – the rest are in my freezer. I got them all filled, frosted, decorated, and delivered. She thought they were beautiful, and I couldn’t agree more!

1010165_674569775333_508568805_n

After I had delivered the cupcakes, hubby and I left for Savannah. We were on a bit of a time crunch because I had an eye appointment with my sister at 4:30. We had planned on driving to my parent’s house first (to drop off Fritz, the cupcakes, and our luggage) and then drive to her office. However, we were unable to do that.

We had a couple of mini-dramas before and during the trip. I will spare you the details, but we had to change our original plan. We decided that it would be best for John to drop me off at my sister’s office so he could head to my parent’s house to unload everything.

While he was busy doing that, Tamara completed my eye exam and I picked out my new glasses. Afterwards, we headed downtown to grab dinner. We had a small amount of time to eat, so we opted for an eatery that advertised “fast” service. To our dismay, the establishment was not fast at servicing our food. Tamara and I had to literally scarf down our food – I even had to eat the last part of my quesadilla as we walked.

One of the local theatres in downtown Savannah was hosting a summer movie event. Every Friday, they’re playing an old/classic movie, and this past Friday they were showing Monty Python and the Holy Grail – a family favorite of ours. We met up with John and my parents who had already purchased our tickets. Before the movie started, the employees handed out plastic coconuts for people to interact with throughout the movie. Unfortunately, they didn’t have enough for everyone 😦

The movie was as humorous as always! After it was over, we walked around downtown in search of some ice cream or frozen yogurt. Unsuccessful in our quest (pun intended), we said goodnight and went our separate ways. Since John and I don’t have a Dairy Queen close to us, we asked mom and dad if they would stop for some blizzards. I got my usual flavor, Oreo Cheesequake. Hubby got the new S’mores flavor and let me try a bite of it. It was awesome!!! I think I found a new favorite 🙂

Saturday was spent giving my mom a pedicure, more walking around downtown, lunch, shopping, church, and going out to dinner with my parents. They have an Asian restaurant just up the road from their house that they treated hubby and I to. On the outside, it looks like a dump. But inside, it’s quite nice and the food was terrific! Being quite original (boring is probably a better word), all four of us ordered almost the exact same thing: John and my mom ordered chicken pad Thai while my dad and I ordered shrimp pad Thai. When we got home, we all had a cupcake for dessert 🙂

1016183_674931849733_786433366_n

On Sunday, we woke up and ate a big breakfast: eggs, sausage, and a cinnamon sugar croissant loaf with an ooey-gooey icing! After eating and getting ready, we headed for the movie theatre. We went and saw Man of Steel – it was GREAT!! I definitely recommend going to see it 🙂 🙂 When the movie was over, we headed back to my parent’s house to eat a quick lunch, pack up the truck, and head back to Hartsville.

Stepping onto my soapbox, I have to share something else with you guys. While John and I were walking around downtown Savannah, I saw a cupcake shop and knew I had to check it out. While inside, I studied their flavors and saw three that I wanted to try: Cookies and Cream, White Chocolate Raspberry, and Strawberry Margarita. Hubby told me to try the margarita flavor (seeing as how I had just tried that flavor myself). That way, I could compare the two.

The cupcake was…extremely disappointing 😦 The biggest letdown about it was its taste. First of all, it was a very large cupcake that had no filling. I feel that if you are going to bake a large cupcake, you need to fill it with something. Second, the cake was a vanilla cake. Don’t get me wrong – I love vanilla cake. But when you’re advertising a strawberry margarita cupcake, I think the cake should at least have a strawberry and/or margarita flavor!

Lastly, the icing was so-so. If you ate the icing by itself, it had a slight hint of strawberry margarita flavor. However, when eating the cake and frosting together, the strawberry margarita flavor was completely lost. I don’t feel like I got my $3.50 worth of strawberry margarita cupcake. The ones I made were WAY BETTER!!! Alright, I’ll step off my soapbox now ;-P  

Well you guys, I had wanted to share with you the first post for the spa party, but with my weekend update, I don’t have enough room! Oh well…maybe tomorrow? Happy crafting,

~ Traci

One thought on “Another update

  1. I think you guys should seriously consider buying a small chest freezer for your garage that you can use to store cupcakes. Then whenever you make an order, make a second batch of the cake part, label it then freeze it in your chest freezer. Eventually you’ll build up quite a collection of cakes and when you get a last second order, or someone wants multiple flavors all you’ll have to do is defrost the cake, and make the frostings/fillings. You can even freeze butter-based frostings!!

    You can freeze just butter too(if you ever find it on sale and want to stock up).

    Don’t know if Florence has a Sam’s club, but if your business keeps growing you will probably want to get a membership so that you can buy bulk butter, flour, eggs and sugar. Ask dad for sure ,but I’m nearly positive you can claim the freezer, baking supplies and membership to Sam’s as a business expense.

Leave a Reply

