DIY Spa Party: Food

I cannot believe that June is almost over! I feel like summer is flying by!! Before I know it, we’ll be back at school for another 190 days…

Sorry for the whining…I’m done now šŸ˜‰

When you hear the word ‘party,’ what do you think of? Probably socializing, eating, and drinking, right? My thoughts exactly. Whenever I host a party, I always like to provide snacks – I love to eat and I’m pretty sure most people do too. And typically, I almost always use the same snack choices for every party. Why, you ask? Because I use recipes that everyone loves! If you know something is good, you stick with it (not in all cases of course).

For this party, I focused on dips. I had a veggie dip, a fruit dip, and a chip dip. The only other non-dip ‘foods’ were the cupcakes and a small candy buffet.

Everything was really tasty and extremely pretty (as you can tell from the pictures below)!!

DSC_0154-18

DSC_0155-19

DSC_0157-21

DSC_0141-5

DSC_0142-6

Now that you’ve seen how awesome everything looks, how about the recipes? That way, you can try them to see if you think they’re as tasty as my party guests and I find them to be šŸ™‚

Veggie dip

Ingredients: 1 cup Helman’s mayo (I use the light mayo), 1 cup sour cream (I use Breakstone’s), 1 tsp dill weed, 1 tsp parsley flakes, 1 tsp beaumond, and 1 tsp finely chopped onion

Directions: Mix it all together

Depending on where you live, beaumond might be hard to find in your local grocery store. I live in a small town, so I can’t usually find it in town. When I do find it, I buy several bottles…you know, just to be safe! Also with the onion, I typically add more than what’s called for. I really like the flavor it brings to the dip, so I always add a little extra šŸ™‚ When I make this at home for just Johnathan and I to enjoy, I make the recipe above. But for parties, I always double! And if you’re wondering what veggies go with the dip, almost any would work. For this party, I bought broccoli, carrots, cucumber, celery, and green/orange/red peppers. [It also doubles as a great chip dip too – we use regular potato chips and Fritos šŸ™‚ ]

Fruit dip

Ingredients: 1 package of cream cheese (softened), 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 cup whipped cream (I make my own whipped cream: recipe found here), and 1/4 cup sugar

Directions: Whip cream cheese, powdered sugar, and sugar together. Add in whipped cream and mix until well combined.

The recipe that I found this dip from (I think from foodnetwork.com under Paula Deen’s page) also called for lemon zest, lemon juice, and pineapple juice. After tasting the mix of ingredients listed above, I didn’t think it needed any of the lemon or pineapple additions. So I just left them out! Beware…this dip is extremely delicious!! Again, you could probably use any fruit you like with this dip, but I used strawberries, pineapple chunks, green grapes, blueberries, raspberries, and apple slices.

Buffalo chicken dip

Ingredients: 1 package of cream cheese (softened), 1 large can of chicken chunks (I do not know how many ounces off the top of my head but I know we buy the Tyson brand), Frank’s red hot sauce (small bottle should suffice), Ranch dressing (small bottle should suffice), shredded cheese (one bag of any flavor you want should suffice – we usually use cheddar)

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Drain all water from the can of chicken. In a small bowl, shred the chicken (I use kitchen scissors). Add Frank’s red hot sauce to the shredded chicken until it reaches your desired spiciness. [We like ours pretty spicy so we usually use almost an entire small bottle] In a small frying pan, cook the ‘spicy’ chicken on medium heat until chicken is warm/heated through, stirring occasionally. After the chicken is cooked, set it aside to cool. Press the softened cream cheese into the bottom of an 8″x8″ baking dish (I just use my hands). On top of the cream cheese, layer the chicken, then squirt some Ranch dressing over the dish (add as much/little Ranch here as you like). The last layer is the cheese – sprinkle it on top (once again, you can add as much cheese as your little heart desires). Pop the dish into your oven and let it bake for 15-2o minutes, or until the cheese starts bubbling. This chip dip goes great with Fritos or tortilla chips.

Let me warn you…this dish is ALWAYS A HIT!!! We never have any leftovers! Anybody who loves buffalo chicken will fall in love with this dip! It is extremely addicting! I guess it’s a good thing we don’t have it too often…or else John and I might both weigh 300 pounds šŸ˜‰ I would advise this though – if you are going to have more than 10 people at your party, you might seriously want to consider making two batches of these…they are THAT good! We did that for our last halloween party, and we STILL had no leftovers!

Dessert Bar

You don’t necessarily need to have a candy bar at a party, but it really adds a fun (not to mention sweet) factor to the overall look and feel of the party. Since my party was spa themed, I bought candy that was blue, green, and white in color. Looking at the photo below:

DSC_0142-6

In the apothecary jar (on the left), I had mini York Peppermint Patties, mini Three Musketeer bars, and Hershey’s milk chocolate nugget bars – all found at Party City.

Next to the apothecary jar (the open round dish) are green apple Jolly Ranchers and Hershey’s cookies and cream kisses – both found at Party City.

The next two dishes are little bowls that I already owned (we use them for ice cream). I bought green apple gummy bears and light blue M&M’s at Party City.

The last thing I bought at Party City were the Airheads (in the square container on the right). I bought four flavors: green apple, watermelon, blue raspberry, and mystery.

Down in front (in the 3-bowl blue container) are Dove chocolates. The flavors (from L to R) are dark chocolate mint, cookies and cream, and milk chocolate.

And lastly, to complete the overall aesthetic look of the dessert table, are the cupcakes!! I am not going to share the recipe with you now since I’ve already written so much. I will, however, make the next post solely about the cupcakes šŸ™‚

You know, even if you don’t have a party, you could still try these recipes. I am sure you will really enjoy them šŸ™‚ As far as cost for the food/cupcakes/candy, I probably spent between $100 – $130 on all supplies (why is everything so expensive nowadays??).

Okay guys, I’ve got laundry to do and a house to clean! I hope you all have a great week! And happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

