Coconut Lime Raspberry Cupcakes

DSC_0151-15

I know I’ve said this before, but I love any reason to try a new cupcake recipe. For the spa party, I wanted to offer a cupcake that was both light and airy but also extremely flavorful and delicious. Anything too heavy and rich just wouldn’t fit with the overall theme. So I looked at my “Cupcake” board on Pinterest and found one from Two Peas and Their Pod that sounded perfect!

The recipe for both the cake and frosting is coconut and lime. I wanted to jazz it up by adding a filling, but I didn’t know what to fill it with. I thought about making a fresh lime curd (to go along with the lime in the cake and frosting). When I asked my sister for her advice, she suggested using a raspberry filling – GENIUS!! Raspberry and lime already go really well together, and with the addition of coconut, it was bound to taste great!

[Side note: My sister is an awesome cook and baker. She’s one of those people who don’t have to follow a recipe. A lot of times, she makes up her own recipes by throwing things together until it tastes just right. So whenever I am in a cooking or baking bind, I always ask her for advice.]

Coconut Lime Raspberry Cupcakes (yields 24 – 28 cupcakes)

For the cake ingredients, you will need:

*2 cups granulated sugar

*zest of one large lime

*3 sticks unsalted butter at room temperature

*5 extra large eggs at room temperature

*1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

*1 tsp coconut extract

*1 tbsp fresh lime juice

*3 cups all purpose flour

*1 tsp baking powder

*1/2 tsp baking soda

*1/2 tsp kosher salt

*1 cup buttermilk

*3/4 cup shredded coconut

Directions for the cake:

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Line a muffin pan with paper liners (I used green for half and teal/white polka dots for the other half to go along with the color scheme).

In a small bowl, combine the sugar and lime zest. Rub together with your fingers, until fragrant. In the bowl of a stand mixer, cream the butter and sugar mixture together on high speed until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. With the mixer on low speed, add the eggs one at a time, scraping down the bowl after each addition. Add the vanilla, coconut extract, lime juice, and mix well.

In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In three parts, alternately add the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the batter, beginning and ending with the dry. Mix until just combined. Stir in the shredded coconut.

Fill each liner to the top with batter (I used my large cookie scoop). Bake for 25 – 35 minutes, until the tops are golden brown and a toothpick comes out clean (I baked mine for 30 minutes). Allow cupcakes to cool in the pan for 15 minutes and then remove to a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

For the filling ingredients, you will need:

*1 1/2 cups frozen raspberries

*1 tbsp cornstarch

*2 tbsp fresh lemon juice

*1/4 cup sugar

Directions for the filling:

In a small saucepan, combine all of the ingredients and slowly bring to a boil over medium-high heat. Keep stirring until thickened for best results. Let cool completely before filling cupcakes.

While the filling is cooling, core the cupcakes (I used my cupcake corer). When the filling has cooled, use a spoon and fill the cupcakes.

For the frosting ingredients, you will need:

*2 sticks butter at room temperature

*1 tsp vanilla extract

*1 tsp coconut extract

*6 cups powdered sugar (I probably only used 3 or 4 cups)

*4 tbsp fresh lime juice

Directions for the frosting:

In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat butter, vanilla, and coconut extract until creamy. Add powdered sugar, one cup at a time, alternating with lime juice, beating until combined. Once the frosting has reached your desired consistency and taste, frost the cupcakes (you can use whatever tip you like). [FYI: I doubled the frosting recipe]

For the garnish:

I added shredded coconut, small lime wedges, and raspberries on top – edible decorations are the bomb!! (yes, I grew up in the 90s)

DSC_0144-8

After I set the cupcakes on my cupcake stands, the leftovers went into an aluminum container.

DSC_0116-7

They look amazing, don’t you think? They taste EVEN BETTER!!! People enjoyed them so much that they took them home šŸ™‚

DSC_0148-12

The cost of the cupcakes was factored into the overall cost of the food I bought for the spa party (remember I spent $100 – $130). This flavor would be perfect for a bridal or baby shower! Or a spa party, of course ;-P

The next post will be all about the drinks I served at the spa party, and their recipes too…so stay tuned! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

