July 4th weekend

You might have noticed that I’ve been absent from the blogging world for the past few days. The reason is because my husband and I were on a mini-vacation. Along with my cousin Katie, we headed down to Savannah for the long weekend.

I hardly ever get to see my cousin. She lives in Kentucky and is extremely busy with work and school – she is in her last year of law school! She’ll be graduating in May and wants to work with the hospital system in Nashville. How amazing is that?!

She left KY after work on Tuesday and drove part of the way to our house, stopping in Chattanooga (or was it Knoxville?) for the evening. She got up early the next morning and drove the rest of the way to our house. She arrived around 1:00. After we gave her a short tour of our house, we loaded up her car with our things and hit the road for GA. The rain was terrible during the trip, but thankfully we arrived safe and sound at my parent’s house. That evening, we had steak, corn on the cob, salad, and peaches for dinner – everything was grilled (excluding the salad) and was absolutely delicious! After dinner, Katie, my mom and I went to Publix to pick up a few items we needed for the 4th. We spent the rest of the evening hanging out and relaxing.

The next morning (the 4th) I got up and immediately began working on the cupcakes. I found this photo and knew I could replicate it easily.

50ad6df798a5ac1836764b084e2bf2dc

I made vanilla cupcakes, a blueberry filling, a raspberry filling, and a vanilla buttercream. The blueberry cupcakes had a blueberry filling and the raspberry cupcakes had a raspberry filling. I know, genius right? Hahaha I kid πŸ˜‰ In the photo above, they used coconut flakes on the white striped cupcakes. I decided to nix the coconut flakes and just used sugar sprinkles (in case someone didn’t like coconut).

998511_153078078211544_1619494845_n

For the extra cupcakes, I filled them with either of the two fillings and added both raspberries and blueberries on top.

936446_678863775123_1621546550_n

Around 1:00, my parents, cousin, husband and I headed over to my sister and brother-in-law’s house. My brother-in-law’s sister, husband, and their two kids were visiting as well, so it was a full house! We spent the afternoon/evening hanging out and eating, two things we do best! I was able to spend some time with their new baby boy (he was born mid-February). He was the sweetest baby I’ve ever met! He was completely content to just lay on the floor and watch everyone. I really enjoyed playing with him πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Although I wasn’t able to capture it, he has the best smile I’ve seen on a baby. Seriously.

942366_679080271263_54840733_n

On Friday morning, my husband, cousin, and I traveled to Hilton Head to shop at the Tanger Outlets. I didn’t find anything (shocking, I know), but my hubby and cousin both did. When we got back to the house, we got cleaned up and all of us headed downtown. After walking around a bit, we started to get hungry so we left for dinner. We ate at a small restaurant called Green Truck Pub. If you’re hungry in Savannah and you like burgers, you should totally check this place out! Because it’s a small establishment and it’s really popular, there usually is a wait (we waited 35 minutes). Also, I recommend the Rustico (it has goat cheese on it)!!!

menu_triptic

On Saturday, we went back downtown and took one of the many tours. We toured the Owens-Thomas house which was really interesting and informative.

visit-owens-main

With the purchase of the O-T tickets, we also received entry into the Jepson Center and the Telfair Museum.

visit-jepson-mainvisit-telfair-main

After perusing all three buildings, we met my sister and her husband at another great eatery called Soho South Cafe. This is one of my favorite places to eat when I’m visiting Savannah. They have the best grilled cheese and tomato basil soup…it’s the only thing I order when I go there!!

SHintbyAH

After our late lunch, my cousin, hubby, and I headed back to Hartsville. It’s amazing how fast the time went. One minute we’re arriving, the next we’re leaving. Overall, it was a lot of fun and I’m really glad my cousin was able to come. I hope we get to see each other more often!

What did you do to celebrate July 4th? Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

