My FL Vacation

552993_684946260773_256770976_n

We made it to Disney!

1416_684946674943_165729432_n

I’d love to move in! How does tomorrow sound?!

972084_684947004283_1840230145_n

Buzz!!

969123_684947094103_1729183195_n

Aurora – my favorite!!

62447_684947059173_2083035491_n

Rapunzel!

551004_684947144003_1621204888_n

Cinderella!

970465_684947333623_856835681_n

Cinderella’s castle – at night!

Saturday, July 27: My flight left at 5:30am, so I had to wake up at 3:00am in order to get ready in enough time to leave for the airport. Thankfully both flights were on time and we experienced no turbulence. My friend, Michelle, picked me up in Orlando and we headed straight for Disney’s Magic Kingdom. We spent the entire day there! Here is a list of the rides we were able to ride: Swiss Family Treehouse (not a ride, but still cool), Splash Mountain (we waited over an hour for this one), Haunted Mansion (this ride scared me senseless as a kid), “It’s a small world,” Ariel’s Grotto, Space Mountain, Carousel of Progress, Buzz Lightyear’s Space Ranger Spin, Stitch’s Great Escape, and Monsters, Inc. Laugh Floor. We also got our picture with Buzz Lightyear, Rapunzel, Aurora, and Cinderella!!

One major regret that both Michelle and I share in regards to Disney is that we didn’t purchase the photo from Space Mountain. We both had funny expressions on our faces, but mine was epically humorous. We were in stitches when we saw it – we could hardly walk straight, we were laughing so hard. We should have paid the $20 and gotten the picture. It’s a picture where, even if you’re having a horrible day, it would instantly make your day better.

We stayed to watch the parade, light show, and fireworks at the end of the day. The light show was incredible! If you get the chance to go to Disney’s Magic Kingdom, stay for the light show – it will not disappoint you!!

995947_684947463363_623734759_n

The Melting Pot

Sunday, July 28: Michelle and I awoke early and got ready for church. After worship and Sunday school, we went to Publix to pick up a few snack items for the week. That afternoon, Michelle’s roommate and friends surprised her with a pedicure in celebration of her upcoming birthday. Afterwards, we drove to Orlando to have dinner at the Melting Pot (one of Michelle’s favorite restaurants). After the fondue, everyone headed back to her house to play Guesstures (not sure of the spelling).

524408_684947832623_1480404355_n

Sweets for my sweet friend 🙂

Monday, July 29: Since I was awake and Michelle was still sleeping, I went for a run around her neighborhood. I’m not sure how many miles I did but I’m assuming I probably did 2.5 – 3 miles. After getting cleaned up, Michelle and I headed to Dade City to go antiquing. Michelle was unsuccessful in finding anything, and I only found a couple of books. We stopped by a tea place and had afternoon tea, complete with cucumber sandwiches, scones, and little desserts! After tea, we met up with Michael (a friend we went to high school with) and went bowling. We were able to play 4 games – out of us three, I was the beetle bum of the group. But I was ok with that! The rest of the day was spent at Michelle’s house relaxing, ending the day with a movie.

Tuesday, July 30: We were up early to head to Rainbow River to go tubing. Bethany (a friend of Michelle’s) and Michael joined us. We floated 2 hours on the river. I didn’t spend much time on my tube – I enjoyed swimming around. When we had finished, we went to another part of the park and had a quick bite to eat. The park had a swimming hole close by, so we all jumped in and swam around some more. Once we had all tired, we left to head back to Michelle’s house. That evening, all of Michelle’s friends came over to have dinner and watch Michelle open her birthday presents.

524043_684948486313_748226436_n

Before the Chick-fil-a grand opening

Wednesday, July 31: We were up at 3:00am. We traveled to Bradenton for a Chick-fil-a grand opening. At 6:00am, the workers handed us each a ticket. By 6:30, they called 100 tickets and 10 alternates to stay for the grand opening. Out of our group of 9, 6 people got their ticket called (mine being one of them). After getting checked in, we were able to set up our “campsite”. The rest of our group who didn’t get their ticket called was able to stay and camp out with us. We spent 24 hours in the Chick-fil-a parking lot. And let me tell you…it was HOT, HOTT, HOTTT!!! They fed us breakfast, lunch, and dinner and also provided some games and entertainment for us. By midnight, we all were tired and drifted off to sleep.

1148867_684948700883_1539605878_n

After the Chick-fil-a grand opening

Thursday, Aug 1: The workers woke us up around 5:00am and we were able to pack up our stuff and load it into our cars. At 6:00, they called us in by groups and gave us our free Chick-fil-a coupons. Everyone who received a ticket got 52 coupons, but since we had a few more people in our group, we split them amongst each other. So in actuality, our group members ended up with 31 coupons. [By the time I get through all of the coupons, I’ll probably be sick of Chick-fil-a!] Once we were dismissed, we went to Crackel Barrel for breakfast. When Michelle and I got back to her house, we showered and she took a long nap. I don’t normally nap, so I spent my time reading and listening to music. When she had awoken, we met up with Michael and went to the mall to do a little shopping. After the mall, Michael treated us both to dinner at Olive Garden.

1146709_684948835613_1165441414_n

We’re so ready for zip lining!

1098410_684948920443_1185025424_n

Sexy harness time ;-P

Friday, Aug 2: Michelle and I woke up early and headed to a zip line park near Orlando. We were joined by Michelle’s brother Andrew and her brother-in-law Matthew. The zip line park offered a “roller coaster,” a race, a free fall, a swing, and a tour. I completed each zip line except the free fall – my fears got to me on that one. I made sure I went first on all of the zip lines that I could. I knew if I didn’t, I might get too scared and not go through with it! Overall, everything was exhilarating!! When we got back to Michelle’s house, we got cleaned up for our evening. We met up with Michelle’s parents and sister and had dinner at Buffalo Wild Wings, in celebration of her mom’s birthday. Then we traveled to Sarasota for dessert at the Melting Pot.

537176_684949703873_1436416623_n

More scrumptious treats!

Saturday, Aug 3: After getting ready for the day, Michelle chauffeured me around my old neighborhood. She took me to my old church, my old house, and our HS alma mater. After traveling down memory lane, we met up with Michelle’s family for afternoon tea. Once we had finished our tea, I was dropped off at the airport. Unfortunately, my first plane ride was quite turbulent, but I was able to survive it 😉

And now, I am back at home! This week, we’ve had registration at school and hubby and I have both volunteered. Next week, teachers return and the following week, students return. I can’t believe the summer is almost over! Where did the time go???

Happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

