DIY Picture Frame {Wedding}

Happy Sunday to you all! I have a DIY picture frame creation that I would like to share with you. I bought this black picture frame about 4 years ago at Target with the hopes of making it into a ‘thank you’ gift. But life got in the way, and it was stored in a plastic container until just a few weeks ago. I pulled it out, determined to make it pretty and ready to display somewhere in the house.

The size of the frame is unusual (11″x17″) and finding a matte to fit was tough. So I decided to forgo the matte. Instead, I bought a REALLY large sheet of light blue paper from Michael’s. I could have gotten two sheets of 12″x12″ scrapbook paper but I didn’t want the ‘overlap’ look (I wanted a continuous flow, know what I mean?). So I just cut out an 11″x17″ rectangle.

010

I saw two “quotes” on Pinterest that I wanted to incorporate into my picture frame (see photo below). I traced and cut out each letter (on cream colored scrapbook paper) and glued them to my black and white paisley scrapbook paper. November 19, 2011 is when Johnathan and I got married 🙂

008

Next, I trimmed down the edges of the paisley papers. To jazz them up some more, I took some gold glittery scrapbook paper and cut out slightly larger rectangles. I took a pair of special scalloped scissors and cut around the edges (sorry you can barely see the scalloped edges). Then I glued the paisley paper on top of the gold glitter paper.

012

013

016

For the middle of the frame, I was going to place a picture from our wedding, but I wanted a matte to go on top of it. So I decided to make my own. I bought a cream and gold Moroccan print paper to use for my matte. I got out my handy-dandy scallop-y stencil (like the one I used for my spa party invitations) and went to work. Since I was using an 8″x10″ photo, I used the second-to-largest stencil for the matte. Once I had cut it out, I took my picture, placed it where I wanted it, taped it to the matte, and cut down the edges.

018

019

020

Next, I laid down my three items on my blue paper. It looked alright, but I wasn’t completely satisfied. I felt like it still needed…something.

021

I had some black and cream chevron paper that I cut down to a thick strip to go in the middle of the blue paper.

027

028

In addition to the chevron paper in the middle, I wanted a little more pizzazz. I cut out a piece of cream lace ribbon and a strip of the gold glitter paper (I cut the gold glitter paper a little larger than the size of the lace). Then I glued them together (with just regular stick glue). And then I taped the lace strip to the center of the photo.

023

024

031

Lastly, I attached the photo to the chevron paper. It’s not exactly perfect, but it’s close enough for me! I am really, really pleased with how it turned out! And I am absolutely in love with the colors!!!

032

034

And here it is on display!

036

Well, tomorrow is my last day of freedom, and guess where I’ll be spending it……at school! Lol ;-P I’m going to do some work in my classroom so I’m not running around like a chicken with its head cut off before students come back next Monday. Happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

