Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cupcakes

This past Thursday, my husband was involved in a nasty car accident. After school that afternoon, we had driven down to the Chevrolet dealer to pick up his truck (he had had it serviced). On our way home, he was driving his truck and I was driving behind him in my car. At one of the stop lights on the main road, he went straight while I turned right (I was headed to Wal-Mart).

As he was going through the green light, a car that was sitting at the light waiting to turn left, pulled out and hit the front passenger side of his truck. John had almost no time to react – he tried to swerve out of the way but wasn’t able to. He ended up hitting a metal sign and driving into a 13 foot ditch. I was in the middle of my turn when I saw parts of his truck and the metal sign flying through the air. I started screaming “Oh my gosh, oh my gosh!” and quickly made a U-turn. Terrible thoughts ran through my mind – what if he’s hurt, what if he’s dead, etc.

As I pulled up to his truck, I saw him climb out, clutching his left shoulder/heart area. I jumped out of my car and ran toward him. Thankfully, he was ok – he suffered no broken bones or serious cuts, just utter shock. The policeman came, filled out the report, and called the tow truck guys. When the towers arrived, they told us that there was a similar accident in the same ditch two weeks ago but unfortunately the driver didn’t survive. After the policeman gave us the ‘ok’ to leave, I drove John to the hospital to get checked out – we both wanted to make sure that he was alright internally. Thankfully, he got a negative report, but the doctors said he would suffer a lot of stiffness/soreness for a few days.

There are a lot of ‘what ifs’ we could dream up about the accident, but the most important thing to remember is that John is alive. I am so grateful that God placed His angels around the truck that afternoon. What an awesome God I serve!!

For today’s post, I am presenting you with another cupcake recipe. This was one of the first cupcake flavors I tried when I first started baking cupcakes. It’s another recipe from Lizzy over at Your Cup of Cake that I found on Pinterest.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Cupcakes

Cinnamon Cake ingredients:

3 eggs

1/3 cup canola oil

3/4 cup buttermilk

1 tsp vanilla extract

3/4 cup sour cream

1 box vanilla cake mix

1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Cinnamon Cake directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line pans with cupcake liners (makes about 20-22 cupcakes). In a large bowl, gently combine eggs, oil, buttermilk, and vanilla. Mix in sour cream. Add cake mix and cinnamon and mix until smooth. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 15 – 18 minutes, or until an inserted toothpick comes out clean. Let cool.

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Buttercream* ingredients:

8 oz cream cheese, softened

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups powdered sugar

2/3 cup Cinnamon Toast Crunch powder (crush cereal in a bag and sift out 2/3 cup)

*I’d recommend doubling the frosting – better to have too much than not enough!

Cinnamon Toast Crunch Buttercream directions:

Beat cream cheese and butter until fluffy. Add Cinnamon Toast Crunch powder. Add vanilla and powdered sugar. Adjust the consistency using milk or heavy whipping cream if it is too thick. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes and top with cinnamon sugar and Cinnamon Toast Crunch squares.

IMG_00102

This picture is from Lizzy’s website, yourcupofcake.com

John would probably list this flavor under his top 5 favorites, and that is why I wanted to share it with you today 🙂 I would have inserted my own photo, but I didn’t have a good enough one – I apologize!!

I hope everyone has an enjoyable four-day work week…I know I will! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

