Handmade Wedding Card

543214_10150910265013513_1884811078_n

Bridesmaids at our friend’s wedding

That’s my friend, Mandi. We met during our first year of college – we were in the same freshman 101 class. I really cherish her friendship! She is the one who helped me discover my great love for Audrey Hepburn, Chuck Taylor Converses, and Relient K. I’m not saying I didn’t like them before I met her…I just never realized how awesome they really were!

Mandi is getting married this October (yay!!), and since hubby and I will be attending, I wanted to make her a card. I decided to make it early, in case I ran out of time before the wedding arrived. So with my free time last night, I made this card, and I am IN LOVE with it!!!!! Not only was it extremely easy to make, it looks like it came out of a magazine or something! Hahaha alright, alright, I’m getting  off my high horse now 😉 Here’s how you can make it:

013

First, I perused Pinterest for inspiration. I found three very similar ideas, all involving a tiered cake. That seemed like the most easiest thing to create. I decided to make my cake three tiers. For the bottom and largest tier, I cut a piece of black and cream chevron paper into a 3.25″W x 1.75″H rectangle. Then I cut a piece of cream and gold moroccan paper into a 2.75″W x 1.75″H rectangle and a piece of cream paper into a 2.25″W x 1.75″H rectangle. I then used my corner rounder die cut and rounded off the edges on the top of each tier.

005

Then I took some light blue ribbon and wrapped the bottom of each tier with it. I attached it with those scrapbook sticker squares.

006

Then I used more of those scrapbook stickers to assemble the cake together. I also reinforced the back with some masking tape, just in case.

007008

I had some 3D flowers that I decided to place on the cake. I chose the pink ones to add a pop of color. I used some glue for the flowers and then took a sticky pearl and placed it in the center of each.

009

Next, the saying. I decided to use the phrase, “Happy I do day”. I got out my stamps and went to work. I used two different font styles. After I stamped out the phrase, I used some special trim scissors and cut around it.

010

I then cut out a piece of gold glitter paper and rounded off the edges. It created a nice background. But I couldn’t just end there. I added a little more bling to the “O” in “I do” – a little rhinestone and some “shine” lines coming off the diamond really send it over the top!

011

The last thing is to attach everything to the card!

012Does this card look familiar to you at all? It’s because it is. I used most of the same paper that I used in my Wedding Picture Frame 🙂

Alright guys, I’ve got some cupcakes to fill, so I need to run! I hope your weekend finds you well 🙂 Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

