Yes, I am still alive

I’ve been absent from the blogging world for the past 40 days, and I apologize. Once again, life has become a roller coaster and I’ve been holding on for dear life! When I get home from school in the afternoons, all I want to do is sit down and relax (since I’ve been on my feet all day). After some relaxing, I have to start dinner. When dinner is eaten and we’ve cleaned up the kitchen, I’m pretty much ready to go to bed (I’m one of those “early to bed, early to rise” kind of people). I truly think I’ve got some kind of deficiency (maybe iron or vitamin). I’m always really tired (my husband can’t stop calling me a grandma). I just don’t have a lot of energy. The next time I go to the doctor, I’m going to ask about it.

Over the last month, I’ve filled some pretty fun cupcake orders. I made some mini cupcakes for a coworker’s husband’s birthday, which then got me another order. I had to make 12 dozen mini cupcakes for a “Dancing with the Stars” event for our county. I even made little flavor cards to fit in with the theme.

970475_693874049413_1729631909_n

Then, I made some “Citadel” inspired cupcakes for another coworker’s husband. I decided to make light blue “C” shaped sugar cookies to represent the light blue “C” of the Citadel. And I used some light blue and white polka dot baking cups and light blue sprinkles!

1385064_697316750213_938015055_n

More recently, a friend of mine asked me to bake some Carolina and Clemson inspired cupcakes for an auction at his school. I decided to do red velvet for Carolina and purple velvet for Clemson. I even bought some Clemson and Carolina candy molds for the toppers (along with some footballs). I think they turned out great!

1385877_705220800433_274804444_n

I also tried a new cupcake recipe, Rootbeer float. Unfortunately, these were a fail. They hardly tasted like rootbeer at all. But they certainly looked cute!

580572_701353226083_781167340_n

I haven’t really done much crafty stuff. I did make a Thanksgiving wreath that I will be sharing later this week with you. Also, I just made (as in a few minutes ago) some pumpkin snickerdoodle cupcakes that I’ll be sharing with you as well.

Other than cupcakes, school has kept both John and I busy. Although this has been the best school year for us both, we’re totally exhausted from the year already (and we’ve only gotten through one quarter so far). I’m really enjoying my first honors class though. They can be a handful at times, but overall, they’re a lot of fun to teach. One of my favorite students is in that class. I truly look forward to see him every day. I hope that if I ever have a son, he turns out like him!

Since this past summer, I’ve started my own teacup collection. My friend, Michelle, has inspired me to drink more tea. Every antique store I go to, I search for teacups and/or teapots. So far, I’ve found two teacups and one teapot. All three are bone China and were made in England (and I got them all for under $30). Sadly, I don’t have a place to display them yet. I’m still mulling it over…

1379433_699227665723_153388903_n998724_684949743793_554720288_n

Alright guys, I’m ending for the night. Stay tuned this next week for a wreath post and a cupcake post! Have a great evening and a wonderful work week!!

~ Traci

 

Leave a Reply

