Thanksgiving Wreath

Greetings friends! I hope you’ve had an awesome week so far. Mine has been pretty good – no complaints here!

Today, I’d like to share with you the Thanksgiving wreath I made for the front door. I’ll be honest, I’m not in love with the finished product. However, I do think it is sort of cute. It’s just not what I had imagined it to be.

Alright, so I first started with a circular wreath (like the one I used for the halloween wreath). I wrapped it this time with an orange geometric ribbon. Unfortunately, as you can see in the picture below, I ran out of ribbon at the end of the wrapping. But that’s ok – that part will be covered.

023

I bought a wooden plaque at Hobby Lobby and first painted it with a golden yellow.

017

Next, I used some scrapbooking stickers and centered “Give Thanks” on the plaque (I just eyeballed this).

018

Once the stickers are down (press them down REALLY well), I painted a deep red over the whole plaque.

019

After a couple of coats, you can peel the stickers off.

020

I took some Elmer’s glue, painted the trim with it, and sprinkled gold glitter over it (to jazz it up a bit).

021

I took some burlap ribbon and wrapped it around the wreath. I used my handy-dandy staple gun and stapled the ribbon to the back of the wooden plaque, so the plaque would hang from the wreath (the burlap is covering that part of the wreath that ran out of orange ribbon).

026

For the last part, I googled an image of a maple leaf, printed it, and cut it out. I then used a sharpie and traced it over five different colors of felt (brown, golden yellow, orange, crimson red, and dark green). Then I cut them all out.

024025

I then layered them on the wreath and glued them down with the hot glue gun.

027

And there you have it! Like I said before, it’s not the greatest wreath I’ve made so far, but it’s still pretty cute.

Well, dinner is calling! Today it was quite chilly outside, so my husband and I are going to enjoy some chili for dinner tonight – YUM! Have a pleasant evening 🙂 And as always, happy crafting!

~ Traci

One thought on “Thanksgiving Wreath

  1. Pingback: Easy Fall Wreath | Creations from the Hart

Leave a Reply

