Pumpkin Snickerdoodle Cupcakes

Happy Saturday to you all! I hope your weekend has gotten off to a great start.

Hubby and I don’t have any major plans, but we’ll probably do our usual weekend activities: clean house, work on some schoolwork, go to Florence for a little shopping, go to church, etc. I’m keeping an eye out at Best Buy for a nice, more professional camera. I am so sick and tired of the dinky camera we have that takes HORRIBLE pictures. I’m hoping it will go on sale sometime this holiday season (either Thanksgiving or Christmas). If I can get it on sale, I will be one happy girl 🙂

On to today’s post! I know this might come as a shock to most (if not all) of you, but I do not like pumpkin flavored things. I never have…until now. Within the last few weeks, I’ve tried some pumpkin treats and have actually enjoyed them. This inspired me to create a pumpkin cupcake. I searched my “Cupcakes” board on Pinterest and found a recipe that I had pinned from Lizzy over at Your Cup of Cake that you can find here. I did add a slight variation to her recipe though, as you can read below.

541488_707063971703_1829434578_n

Pumpkin cake:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line muffin pans with 24 cupcake liners. Sift one box of yellow cake mix, 1 tbsp pumpkin pie spice, and 1 tsp cinnamon into a bowl and set aside. In a large bowl, combine 15 oz pumpkin puree, 3 eggs, 1/2 cup applesauce, 1/3 cup milk, and 2 tsp vanilla extract. Stir in cake/spice mix. Fill cupcake liners 3/4 full and bake for 17 – 22 minutes.

While the cupcakes are cooling, melt 4 – 6 tbsp butter in a bowl. In another bowl, combine 1/4 cup sugar and 1 tbsp cinnamon. Using a pastry brush, brush the tops of the cupcakes with the butter, then roll the cupcake tops in the cinnamon/sugar mix.

Pumpkin filling:

Take one small box (3.4 oz) of pumpkin spice jello pudding, 1 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice*, and 1 3/4 cup heavy whipping cream and whip until fluffy. Using a cupcake corer (or just a simple knife will suffice), core out a hole in the middle of the cupcakes (make sure they are completely cooled). Pipe the filling into the cupcakes.

*When I made the filling, I used only the pudding and heavy cream. I could barely taste any pumpkin so that’s why I added more pumpkin pie spice. Feel free to add more/less if you like.

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting:

Beat 1 1/2 cups butter* (3 sticks) and 24 oz cream cheese* (3 blocks). Add 4 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 6 tsp vanilla extract. One cup at a time, add in powdered sugar until you reach your desired consistency and taste. Pipe onto cooled cupcakes. And finally, sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.

*I tripled Lizzy’s original frosting recipe so that I could generously frost each cupcake.

1453235_192155200970498_451735530_n

I took these to school and people really enjoyed them! I even received several orders to make them for Thanksgiving 🙂

Time to start the weekend chores! Enjoy the rest of your weekend and happy crafting!!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

