Happy Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving to you all! I hope you’ve enjoyed this awesome day with the people you love πŸ™‚

This year, my husband and I attempted our first Thanksgiving on our own. Both of us had never cooked a turkey before, so we knew it would be a great learning experience. And it was!

With the assistance of our parents via telephone, some helpful advice from our friends, and some youtube videos, we were able to successfully prep and cook our turkey! It turned out really tender and moist.

002

Hubby’s on carving duty!

I made some gravy to drizzle over the turkey, but it was very disappointing. Although it was tasty, it was like water. I tried adding more flour to thicken it, but it didn’t work :-/

007

Instead of making a green bean casserole, I decided to swap the green beans for broccoli – mmmmm!

003

I also added shredded cheddar cheese!

Stuffing!

005

My husband’s specialty: Carolina Cornbread Pudding – amazing!!

004

Cornbread, corn, and cheese – what’s not to love?

Mashed potatoes!

006

During the holidays, I like to drink sparkling grape juice and apple cider. Since I couldn’t find the sparkling apple cider, I just got the red grape juice πŸ™‚

009

I also made a small side salad for us, but that picture will come in a bit. For dessert, can you guess what I made? That’s right – cupcakes!! John really loved those pumpkin snickerdoodle cupcakes so much, he requested them for Thanksgiving!

008

Our table – before food:

001

Our table – with food!

010

Here’s the side salad I mentioned earlier.

012

Raspberry and pear salad with a raspberry cream dressing

Turkey and sides:

013

Everything all together!

011

The only thing that did not make it to the plate was a batch of homemade rolls. Unfortunately, they didn’t turn out, so I had to toss them 😦

Well, the kitchen is cleaned so it’s time to eat a cupcake and relax! Hubby and I are going to check out some stores tomorrow morning, so we’ll be heading to bed early tonight!

I hope each and every one of you had a fantastic day! Enjoy the rest of your weekend and happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

