DIY Burlap Wreath

DSC_0453

We made it through another work week everyone! For me and all my teacher friends, that means we’re one week closer to summer – and I know we all cannot WAIT!!!

If you do not live under a rock, you probably have seen the explosion of burlap wreaths people are using to adorn their front doors or use as decor in their house. I myself have pinned many burlap wreath ideas on my “Wreaths” board on Pinterest and finally decided to make one for our front door. I followed Haley’s tutorial and found it really easy to follow.

What you’ll need:

*Wire wreath form – mine is 18″

*Burlap ribbon – since I used an 18″ form, I used 5 rolls

*Twine (optional)

*Embellishments of your choice

DSC_0423

Yep, that’s Haley’s tutorial on the iPad ;-D haha

DSC_0424

Waited until this was 50% off to purchase

You’ll need to unravel your ribbon and then weave it under the outer rim (on the floor, my wreath form is facing down for this first part).

DSC_0425

Then you’ll keep weaving in the over-under-over-under pattern. I did thread some twine through my burlap ribbon and tied it to the wreath form so it would never unravel – just a precaution…it’s totally optional.

DSC_0426

DSC_0427

DSC_0429

DSC_0430

DSC_0431

While you are weaving under-over-under-over, you’ll need to pull the ribbon into a loop (as big or small as you like) and then scrunch that loop and that is what creates the “bubble” effect.

DSC_0432

The first loops (or “bubbles”)

DSC_0433

You can see it taking shape!

When I got to the end of the ribbon, I threaded some more twine and tied it to the wreath form. Then I got a new roll of ribbon and repeated the process!

DSC_0435

DSC_0436

DSC_0437

Here’s some of it completed! It certainly is coming along…

DSC_0438

Not to jump ahead, but the directions are the same from the beginning until the end. Here’s the almost finished product!

DSC_0440

It looks so good against our aqua door!

You’ll notice that there are parts of my wreath that look more full than others…I guess that’s where I made the loops not as large as the others. Oh well! This is my first burlap wreath I’ve made, so I’m not going to be too critical of myself. Besides, that’s what embellishments are for – hiding the imperfections! Am I right? 🙂

I looked through my ribbons and flowers and this is what I found that I wanted to potentially use:

DSC_0441

I used everything except the small pink silky flowers on the bottom right

I took the cream/gold chevron ribbon and cut out 7 triangles. I took my Crop-a-Dile and punched two little holes on the tops of the triangles and ran the twine through them.

DSC_0443

DSC_0444

I decided that I wanted the triangular banner to hang on the “top” of the wreath. I’m thankful to have a husband who will hold things for me so I can take pictures – he’s a sweetheart! All I did with the banner was tie the ends of the twine into the burlap ribbon (on the back side so you couldn’t see the ends!).

DSC_0446

Hubby’s such a great helper 😉

DSC_0450

Lastly, the flowers! Since the wreath looks a little less poofy on the lower right hand side, I added the flowers there. The two larger ones had clasps on them, so I just clasped them to the ribbon. The smaller flower had two twisty wires so I “tied” them to the ribbon.

DSC_0451

B-E-A-UTIFUL!

Looks pretty good, doesn’t it? I certainly think so! I can see why people love these types of wreaths so much…they are very addicting!!! I now know what I’ll be making my friends for different holiday gifts 🙂

So all in all, if you couldn’t tell, this wreath is awesome! Yes, it is a little tedious and time consuming (having to weave 15 feet of ribbon through the wires) but it is ALL WORTH IT for such a gorgeous wreath that is perfect any time of the year – with the appropriate themed embellishments, of course ;-P

Enjoy the rest of your weekend everyone! I’m going to go hang out with my son now 🙂 🙂 🙂 Happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

