Homemade Snickers

Okay guys, I’ve been thinking for awhile now about adding another “page” to my blog that’s devoted solely to my favorite recipes…and I’ve finally decided to take the plunge! Every time I make something awesome, whether it be a family recipe or a recipe from my Pinterest board, I always think to myself, I should share this with my friends in the blogging world! So that’s what I’m going to do, and to start us off, I would like to share a recipe I recently pinned for homemade snickers bars.

This recipe comes from Imperial Sugar and is so easy to whip up! You’ll definitely impress your friends/family if you take these bars to your next party or social gathering.

DSC_0036

Line a 7 x 11 pan with parchment paper. As you can see in my photo, I had to use clothespins to keep my parchment paper to stay in place…real classy.

DSC_0037

Place 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips and 3 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter into a microwaveable bowl. Microwave the chocolate/peanut butter for 1 minute and stir until completely combined. Pour into the pan and spread until even. I tilted my pan around and around until the chocolate coated the entire bottom, and then I tapped the pan on my counter to get rid of air bubbles and help smooth out the “lumps.” Place the pan in the freezer for 10 minutes, or until the chocolate is firm. [The directions on the Imperial Sugar website said to place the pan in the freezer for 2 – 3 minutes, but my chocolate was NOT set at all within that time frame, hence the reason why I am telling you to keep it in the freezer longer]

DSC_0038

DSC_0039

While the chocolate is setting up in the freezer, make the nougat. Place 1 container (7 oz) of marshmallow fluff, 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter, and 1 1/2 cups of powdered sugar into a medium sized bowl and mix until completely combined. I followed the advice of Imperial Sugar and mixed the nougat in my kitchen aid with the dough attachment. I did have to scrap the bottom of the bowl a couple times to get everything to completely combine together, but that wasn’t hard to do. Take the “dough” and with your fingers press it on top of the chocolate. As you can see in my photo, because my chocolate wasn’t set/firm, it came up over the sides of the nougat. Again, not a huge deal, but it just doesn’t look as “pretty” as I would like it to look.

DSC_0040

Next, take 1 cup unsalted dry roasted peanuts, pour them on top of the nougat, and with your fingers/hands, press them into the nougat layer. Again, because the chocolate wasn’t set, I got chocolate all over my hands, which meant that the peanuts stuck to my hands like crazy! Again, not a huge travesty…

DSC_0041

For the caramel layer, take 11 oz of caramels and place them into a small saucepan. Add 1/4 cup heavy cream. Melt down the caramels on medium heat until they are dissolved into a thick caramel sauce – stirring often!! If you don’t, the caramel will become one big glob and will be SO difficult to stir. Once the caramels have completely dissolved, pour the caramel over the nougat/peanut layer. Once again, I tilted the pan until the caramel covered every inch and tapped the pan on my counter to release the air bubbles. Place the pan in the fridge so the caramel hardens, probably 10 – 15 minutes. [I ate dinner with hubby while waiting for the caramel to harden]

DSC_0042

For the last layer, melt another cup of semisweet chocolate chips with 3 tablespoons of creamy peanut butter. Pour over the caramel layer making sure every inch is covered in chocolate, all of the air bubbles are gone, and you have an even, smooth surface. After the chocolate is poured, place it back in the fridge to harden. I’d let it harden for at least 30 minutes or so. Hubby and I went for a walk with Aiden, and then I gave Aiden his nightly jar of baby food and bath before I got the bars out of the fridge for the final step.

DSC_0043

After the top chocolate layer is set, take the pan out of the fridge. Life the edges of the parchment paper up and set the ginormous snickers bar on the counter. Take a knife and cut it into smaller bars. Leave out one for yourself (or three!) and then package the rest up in a tightly sealed container and store in the fridge.

DSC_0044

DSC_0045

So while I was making these, I knew they weren’t going to come out looking exquisite like they do on the Imperial Sugar’s website (particularly due to the fact that my first chocolate layer wasn’t completely set), but I really don’t mind. Because they taste AMAZING!! And that’s the most important aspect of all…the TASTE!! Trust me, these are SO GOOD – everyone will want the recipe 🙂

I’m really looking forward to sharing more recipes with you in the future – not just dessert recipes either! All types of recipes will be featured here!

Until my next post…happy crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

