Ham & Cheese Quiche

Good morning and happy Sunday my friends! Aren’t you glad it’s the weekend? I know I sure am 🙂

Although the school year is over, I am still teaching…summer school, that is. Our schedule started at the beginning of June, and this Monday and Tuesday are my last days – woo hoo!!!!! I am really looking forward to being done, so I can fully enjoy my month off from school. I know it will go by fast, so I will have to make sure I don’t let my time go to waste!

DSC_0296

Today, I am bringing you an awesome recipe for a ham and cheese quiche. This quiche would make a perfect addition to your breakfast or brunch menu, and it pairs excellently with orange juice, coffee, or tea…whatever your fancy!

Ingredients:

9″ pie crust

1/2 cup mayo

4 tablespoons flour

4 eggs, beaten

1/2 cup milk

1 (+/-) cup grated cheddar cheese

1/2 bag diced ham

small onion, diced

2 teaspoons parsley

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Place all ingredients in a medium sized mixing bowl and mix well. Pour mixture into pie crust and set on top of baking sheet. Bake for 45 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool 5 minutes. Slice and serve!

DSC_0299

Couple tips: 1) I highly recommend buying the deep dish pie crusts (freezer section). Sometimes when I make this quiche, it overflows (hence the reason for the baking sheet). Also, let the pie crust sit out while you mix the ingredients – this allows the crust time to come to room temperature before going in the oven. 2) I use Miracle Whip mayo – I like the taste it brings to the quiche, but feel free to use whatever brand you prefer! 3) You can use as much cheese as your little heart desires – I actually never measure the cheese out. I just dump in cheese until I think it’s enough lol ;-P And that’s probably the reason why sometimes my quiche overflows…4) Since the pie crusts come two to a pack and you only use half the bag of ham, it might be a good idea to make two at one time. For the second quiche, you can bake it, cut it into slices once it’s cooled, put them in tupperware containers, and place them in your freezer. That way, whenever you want a slice, you can easily thaw a slice or two out. 5) This ham is the kind I use in my quiche (from Wal-Mart).

I got this recipe from my mom before I moved out on my own – she armed me with a bunch of her favorite “go-to” recipes so I wouldn’t starve 🙂 But I don’t know where she got this one…it could be in our family or it could be from a magazine…who knows?!

It’s time for some coffee and breakfast before church. I hope you all have a fantastic Sunday and have an awesome work week ahead of you! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

