Chicken Pad Thai

I am super excited to share one my favorite recipes with you today!

I wish I could say that I had the amazing skills of coming up with a recipe like this myself; but alas, I cannot.

My mom is the one who introduced me to this recipe. She found it, tried it out, and loved it; so she shared it with me! You can find it in Cooking Light’s March 2011 issue. Their recipe calls for shrimp, but I prefer chicken (mostly because I’ve never cooked shrimp before). Feel free to use either chicken or shrimp…or be a rebel and use both!!

Chicken Pad Thai Ingredients:

8 ounces uncooked flat rice noodles (pad Thai noodles)

2 tablespoons dark brown sugar

2 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce

1.5 tablespoons fish sauce

1.5 tablespoons fresh lime juice

1 tablespoon Sriracha or chili garlic sauce

3 tablespoons canola oil

1 cup (2-inch) green onion pieces

1 pound chicken, cut into bite-size pieces

5 garlic cloves, minced

1 cup fresh bean sprouts

1/4 cup chopped unsalted dry-roasted peanuts

3 tablespoons thinly sliced fresh basil

Chicken Pad Thai Directions:

1. Cook noodles according to package directions.

*This is what I did with my noodles: I boiled a pot of water. Once the water started boiling, I turned off the stove and removed the pot from the heat. I placed the noodles in the warm water and let them sit until I was ready to use them. This gives them plenty of time to soften.

dsc_1854

Noodles getting a nice warm bath

2. While the water comes to a boil for the noodles, combine the dark brown sugar, soy sauce, fish sauce, Sriracha (or chili garlic sauce), and lime juice in a small bowl. Set aside.

dsc_1855

Chicken, green onion, garlic, and sauce are ready!

3. Heat a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat. Add oil to pan; swirl to coat. Add green onion, garlic, and chicken; stir-fry several minutes, until chicken is no longer pink.

dsc_1858

Pink chicken – DO NOT EAT!

dsc_1859

Cooked chicken!

4. Drain the noodles and add them to the chicken; toss to combine.

dsc_1861

5. Stir in sauce; cook 1 minute, stirring constantly to combine.

dsc_1862

It doesn’t seem like enough sauce, but trust me, it is!

6. Arrange about 1 cup noodle mixture on a plate (or in a bowl, like I did); top each serving with 1/4 cup bean sprouts, 1 tablespoon peanuts, and 2 teaspoons basil. Enjoy!

dsc_1864

Doesn’t that look SO GOOD?!?!?! Well, let me tell you that IT IS!!!!! It tastes just as good as any restaurant’s version! It’s a little spicy (due to the Sriracha), but it’s not overly spicy {like the kind of spicy where you are in the bathroom for an hour}. And probably what makes this meal even better is the fact that it is relatively healthy! (Remember, it’s from Cooking Light!!!!!) So you don’t have to feel guilty about eating it! Tasty and healthy – win win!!!

The one downside to this recipe is that it’s not as good as a leftover meal. It’s not bad re-heated, but it doesn’t have the same zing to it as it does when you first make it. The serving size is suggested to be four…but for John and I, we usually have a little larger portion size (what can we say, we like to eat!). So we only get three serving sizes out of it. But you know what? It’s ok! We don’t mind at all 🙂

Until next time everyone! I wish you all a weekend full of jam-packed awesomeness! Happy cooking and crafting!

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

