The Best Chili

Do you love chili? I certainly do! When it’s cold outside and you want something warm and comforting, chili is one of the best dishes to enjoy! It’s hearty, meaty, a little spicy – it’s perfect!

When I lived at home before graduating college, I created a collection of my mom’s “go-to” recipes that I always enjoyed eating as a kid. I figured that when I was living on my own after college, I could make my dinners at home instead of going out to eat every night (which is expensive, not to mention unhealthy). This recipe was one of the many I have collected from my mom ❤

Ingredients:

one pound ground beef (or turkey, if you prefer)

one onion, chopped

two cans red kidney beans (dark or light), drained

one large can peeled, diced tomatoes

three small cans tomato sauce

one small can tomato paste

four tablespoons chili powder

one teaspoon garlic powder

one teaspoon salt

half teaspoon pepper

two tablespoons sugar

optional toppings: shredded cheese, sour cream, tortilla chips

Directions:

1. In a skillet, brown the meat and onion. Drain the fat and add it to a slow cooker.

dsc_1977

2. In the slow cooker, add the beans, tomatoes, tomato sauce, and tomato paste. Mix well.

3. Next, add the chili powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and sugar. Mix well.

4. Turn the slow cooker on low, place the lid on top, and let it cook all day long. When you’re ready to stuff your face eat, scoop some chili into a bowl and top it with your favorite things! My favorite toppings happen to be shredded cheese and sour cream 🙂 And I also enjoy eating my chili with Fritos scoops (it’s such a delicious flavor combo – I highly recommend you try it!).

dsc_1988

Still on the fence about trying this recipe? Yeah, Traci, you say it’s good, but how would I know it’s good without making it myself?  Excellent question! I’m so glad you asked. Here’s a point of reference: Have you ever eaten the chili from Wendy’s? Did you like it? If you did, then you are going to enjoy my mom’s chili recipe. It’s EVEN BETTER!!! I promise. 🙂 🙂

Did you have a Happy Thanksgiving? I sure did! I got to spend time with family, which is always good 🙂

Now I’ve got to focus on my Christmas decor! I just hope I can get everything decorated how I want before Christmas sneaks up on me (kind of like Thanksgiving snuck up on me lol). I’ll be sure to keep you posted! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

Leave a Reply

