Easy DIY Christmas Wreath

So you want to make your own Christmas wreath this year? And you need it to be incredibly easy? But at the same time, you want it to look like a million bucks? Look no further than this here tutorial!

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 18 inch grapevine wreath
  • one red hydrangea
  • two white hydrangeas
  • four small greenery sprigs
  • one large bow
  • wood initial or Christmas phrase (I got my “merry” piece from Target)
  • wire cutters
  • twine
  • stapler
  • super glue
  • alligator hair clips (like these found here)

First, if you have SUPER long stems on your hydrangeas like I did, cut those bad boys down! Take the red hydrangea, stick the stem through the wreath, and bend the rest of the stem so it doesn’t fall out of your wreath. You might have to trim more of the stem off if it is showing from behind. If you’re worried about the flowers falling out of your wreath, you could always hot glue or tie the stems to your wreath (I chose not to do that with my mine).

Repeat with the white hydrangeas on either side of the red hydrangea. Fluff and adjust where necessary.

dsc_2000

Next, take your four sprigs of greenery (I found mine in the Christmas section at Hobby Lobby) and remove the tags. With two sprigs on each side, just like the hydrangeas, stick them through the wreath and bend the stems. Again, fluff and adjust where necessary.

The bow is the next addition. I made a bow for my last wreath (seen here) but this time around I got lazy. While shopping at Hobby Lobby, I saw this bow and figured with enough primping, I could make it look halfway decent. From far away, you can hardly tell it’s a pre-made bow. Also, make sure you push the bow behind the greenery so you can still see the greenery 🙂

dsc_2005

The last part of the Christmas wreath is the wooden accent. Whether you use a single letter or a phrase, you will want to paint it. Then with your super glue, glue the alligator hair clips to the wood and let dry. As you’ll see in the photo below, I glued two clips to my wood and those two clips attached to my bow. On the other side of my wood, I stapled some twine down so I could tie it to the right side of my wreath.

In the photo below (which you can’t see), the alligator clips are clipped onto the bow on the left and two pieces of twine are tied around the right side of the wreath to hold the “merry” phrase in place. If you look closely enough on the right side (near the “y” in “merry”), you can see my two pieces of twine…thankfully the color of twine I used somewhat blends in with the grapevine wreath, so it’s not that noticeable lol. In the end, I think it turned out AMAZING! And I couldn’t be more happy with the results!

dsc_2012

This is literally the easiest wreath I’ve ever created! It took me one evening to complete. If I didn’t have to wait for paint or glue to dry, it would have taken even less time to finish! I’m just glad I got it done with enough time before Christmas so I can enjoy it.

Do you have your Christmas decorations up yet? We’ve got a couple of things decorated already, but we’ve got a few more things to do around the house. I’m REALLY excited to show you some pictures of our house outside once we get the lights up…which will hopefully be this weekend!!! So stay tuned! And as always, happy crafting!

~ Traci

One thought on “Easy DIY Christmas Wreath

  1. Pingback: Easy DIY Christmas Card #1 | Creations from the Hart

Leave a Reply

