Peppermint Meringues

The first time I tried a meringue cookie was back in college, about ten years ago. A couple of my friends and I went home one weekend with our friend Jamie. Her mom made some vanilla meringue cookies and with one bite – I fell in love!  They were sweet, a little crispy, but also soft and chewy…so stinking good that I just had to have the recipe! Thankfully, her mom was willing to share it with me!

This recipe today, however, is not Jamie’s mom’s recipe. It’s a different one that I found using Pinterest (of course!). *I promise I will share her recipe one day in the future though!!*

So, I wanted to make a meringue cookie, but I wanted it to have a little holiday flair (the crushed candy canes and the peppermint extract). This particular recipe hails from Skinny Mom.

If you’ve got some leftover candy canes from Christmas, these cookies would be a phenomenal way to get rid of them! They also make a great gift to give away! 🙂

Ingredients:

– 3 large egg whites at room temperature

– 1/4 teaspoon cream of tartar

– 3/4 cup sugar

– 1/4 teaspoon pure peppermint extract

– 2 crushed candy canes (or red sprinkles)

Directions:

Take two candy canes, break them down into several pieces, and place those pieces in a ziploc bag. Cover with a dish towel and crush the pieces with a hammer, rolling pin, or meat mallet – whatever you easily have on hand will work!

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees and line a baking sheet (or two) with parchment paper.

Place the room temperature egg whites into a large mixing bowl. Beat at medium speed for about 1 minute until frothy, using a hand mixer or a stand mixer fitted with the whisk attachment.

Add the cream of tartar and continue beating at medium speed until the egg whites become soft peaks.

Still at medium speed, add the sugar one tablespoon at a time, while continuously beating until the egg whites become stiff peaks.

Add the peppermint extract and beat to combine, scraping down the bowl as necessary. To check that the sugar is completely dissolved into the egg whites, rub a small amount of the egg whites between your fingers. If you feel grittiness, keep beating until it is nice and smooth.

dsc_2074

With a large star tip and a piping bag, pipe small mounds onto the parchment paper. You can make them as big or small as you like 🙂

Sprinkle the crushed candy canes (or red sprinkles) over the meringues before you put them in the oven!

Bake for 45 – 50 minutes (I did 50 minutes). Turn the oven off, crack the door open, and allow the cookies to cool in the oven for 1.5 – 2 hours. Once they’ve cooled completely, enjoy!

Like I said before, I LOVE these cookies because they are so delicate and light but extremely satisfying to eat! When you bite into them, they practically dissolve in your mouth! Because of the peppermint extract, they are almost like an after-dinner mint! ;-P

I made these to take down to Savannah for Christmas to share with my family. They were a huge hit since there were none leftover!!

Did you have a Merry Christmas? Was Santa good to you this year? I certainly hope so!!! He was incredibly good to all three of us – Johnathan, Aiden, and I 🙂

If I don’t post again before the year is up, I wish you all a very Happy New Year! And as always, happy crafting!

~ Traci

 

Leave a Reply

