Snowflake Wreath

When you hear the word “January,” what comes to mind? I immediately think of snowflakes and the colors white, silver, and blue.

For this month’s wreath, I decided to buy another circular wreath form and wrap it in a soft, fuzzy yarn that kind of reminds me of a sweater. And then I figured I’d adorn my wreath with some pretty snowflakes. It’s simple but classy – and perfect for this time of year!

Here’s what you’ll need:

– 16″ circular styrofoam wreath form (I used this one here)

– two sets of yarn (I used this yarn here)

– glue, scissors, stapler

– upholstery tacks, like these here (optional)

– decorative snowflakes

– 24″ pieces of string/twine

Instructions:

First, find the end of your yarn and glue it to the back of your wreath. I reinforced my yarn with several upholstery tacks…just to be on the safe side 🙂 I allowed my glue to dry for 30 minutes.

After the glue has dried, wrap the yarn around your wreath form. I wrapped mine around three to four times and then pushed my yarn together so it was pretty taut (I didn’t want any white from the styrofoam showing through). Keep wrapping until you run out of yarn!

Just like you did at the beginning, glue the end of the yarn to the back of the wreath form. Reinforce with upholstery tacks. Open the second set of yarn and repeat: glue to where the last yarn ended and reinforce with tacks. Allow the glue to dry before wrapping the second batch of yarn.

This is what my wreath looked like when I got to the end of the wrapping process:

dsc_2096

That piece of yarn I have in my hand (in the photo above), I took and glued as close as I could get to the first set of upholstery tacks. And then I used some more tacks and reinforced the last piece of yarn like crazy! Then I trimmed off the excess yarn.

dsc_2097

This is what my wreath looked like covered in the yarn:

dsc_2098

The snowflakes I used were from Target (the “dollar” section up at the front of the store). I painted two coats each of blue, white, and silver. I had some shimmery/iridescent glitter glue, so I painted one coat on each of the snowflakes for a fun effect.

Take a snowflake and a piece of string and staple the string to the back of the snowflake.

Take the snowflake and string and place it where you want it on your wreath. Flip over the wreath and tie the string together! I knotted my string three times and trimmed off the excess…can’t be too cautious! 😉

dsc_2114

Repeat as many times for as many snowflakes you add. {The one negative side to using a stapler with my thin wooden snowflakes is that the staples went through the wood and were noticeable on the front. So I took my husbands snips (wire cutters) and tried to trim the staples down as best I could.}

I am a perfectionist and slightly OCD, so the fact that you can see the staples on the front side of the snowflake does bother me. BUT as I have grown older, I am a little more willing to let some things go…and this is one of them! And from far away, you can’t even tell there are staple holes on the snowflakes.

Anyways, once you’ve got all your snowflakes attached to your wreath, you’re done! Hang up and admire your creation!

Like I said before, this is a pretty plain wreath (for me) but I kinda like it that way! My husband is a “plain jane” kind of guy, so I’m sure he loves this wreath ;-P

Well, I go back to school tomorrow…yikes! I would have gone back today, but our daycare was closed, so I stayed at home with Aiden 🙂 Win for mommy!!! Wish me luck as I return to my classroom tomorrow! Happy crafting,

~ Traci

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

