Stuffed Pepper Soup

I love stuffed peppers. I love the fact that you not only eat what’s on the inside, but you can also eat the “bowl” that contains all the meat/rice/tomato goodness!

The first time I ever had stuffed peppers was at my high school friend Michelle’s house. I was spending the night, and her dad made them for dinner. One bite and I was hooked!

More recently, I was perusing Pinterest and came across this recipe for stuffed pepper soup. I tried it out and instantly knew I found a winner! It’s wonderful during the winter time, because a) it’s warm and comforting and b) it’s hearty. This recipe makes so much soup that it’s great to freeze and enjoy down the road! Win win!! Actually, it’s more of a win-win-win. The third win comes from it being reasonably healthy! This recipe hails from Skinny Taste, after all! 🙂

Ingredients:

– 3 cups cooked rice (brown or white)

– 1 pound ground beef (or turkey)

– 1 green bell pepper, seeded and chopped

– 1 red bell pepper, seeded and chopped

– 1 small onion, diced

– 3 cloves garlic, minced

– 2 cans (14.5 oz each) petite diced tomatoes

– 1 can (15 oz) tomato sauce

– 2 cups chicken broth

– 1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram

– salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Chop the peppers, onion, and garlic.

Side note: Did you know that male peppers (three bumps) are best to use when cooking and female peppers (four bumps) are best to eat raw? Yeah, I didn’t either…until I saw a pin on Pinterest! Seriously, what did we DO before Pinterest?!?

2. In a large skillet, brown the ground meat over medium-high heat and season with salt. Drain the fat.

dsc_2129

3. Place the meat back in the skillet and add the peppers, onion, and garlic. Reduce heat to medium-low and cook for about 5 minutes until the onions and peppers soften a bit.

dsc_2131

4. Add the tomatoes, tomato sauce, chicken broth, marjoram, and season with salt and pepper.

5. Cover and simmer on low heat for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.

6. When ready to serve, spoon 1.5 cups of soup into a bowl and top with 1/2 cup of cooked rice.

You know what goes great with this soup? BREAD!!! The first night Johnathan and I ate this, I made some cheddar garlic biscuits (like the ones you get at Red Lobster). I’ll post the recipe for those soon 🙂 The second night we ate the soup, we bought some sourdough bread bowls from Panera. Each different in flavor, but both equally delicious pairings with this soup! You can’t go wrong either way 🙂

Doing anything special this weekend? Sad to say, but we aren’t. We’re just going to get our usual weekend chores done. Since we’re off school on Monday, Johnathan and I are going to put a new storm door on our front door. The one we have now is hard to open/close. Yay adulting!!

I am going to be starting some Valentine’s decorating this week. Or at least, that is my plan. You never know what can happen with a toddler! Hopefully I’ll be posting my ideas soon! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your weekend! And happy crating!

~ Traci

One thought on “Stuffed Pepper Soup

  1. Pingback: Cheddar Garlic Biscuits | Creations from the Hart

Leave a Reply

